Do Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly, By Faith

Lately my conversations with God have gone something like this…

“God, I really thought You told us to do this. But it isn’t happening. Help me to patiently wait.”

“Okay, God, I am discouraged and don’t understand. Please help my unbelief.”

“Um, maybe I didn’t hear You correctly. Do I need to learn how to listen and follow better?”

“Are you listening?”

Okay, so we didn’t really converse there. That was just me, me, me.

Thankfully, I know God is always listening. His word assures us over and over that He hears our prayers and our cries for help.

“In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice out of his temple, and my cry [did enter] into his ears.” ~ 2 Samuel 22:7 (KJV)

“Evening, and morning, and at noon, will I pray, and cry aloud: and he shall hear my voice.” ~ Psalm 55:17 (KJV)

“He will regard the prayer of the destitute, and not despise their prayer.” ~ Psalm 102:17 (KJV)

But sometimes, the quiet days of waiting, waiting, waiting for His leading are overwhelming. I question myself. And I question God…

” ‘O My people, what have I done to you? And how have I wearied you? Testify against Me.’ ” ~ Micah 6:3

Oops. What has God done to me? He has blessed, cared for, loved, provided for, and forgiven me, over and over and over again. And He has promised to never abandon me (Hebrews 13:5).

I sometimes feel like Job, when God finally speaks up and answers Job and his “friends”.

” ‘Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell Me, if you have understanding. Who determined its measurements? Surely you know!…Shall the one who contends with the Almighty correct Him? He who rebukes God, let him answer it…Have you an arm like God? Or can you thunder with a voice like His?’ ” ~ Job 38:4-5a; 40:2, 9

And I know I must repent like Job.

” ‘I know that You can do everything, and that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You. You asked, “Who is this who hides counsel without knowledge?” Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, things too wonderful for me, which I did not know. Listen, please, and let me speak; You said, “I will question you, and you shall answer Me.” I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees You. Therefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.’ ” ~ Job 42:2-6

Remember. Repent. Repeat.

Until God reveals the next step of His perfect plan for me, I must wait. And put my trust in the Almighty Creator of the universe.

” ‘Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!’ ” ~ Mark 9:24b

Oh, I am quite sure I will find myself discouraged. Again. And questioning. Again. And remembering, repenting, and repeating. Again. But I pray that eventually my knee-jerk reaction will be to immediately trust God – and PRAISE Him- in all things.

“Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;” ~ Ephesians 5:20 (KJV)

As I wait, I will continue to seek after God, study His word, and walk humbly with Him.

“He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God?” ~ Micah 6:8

I love that verse! What does God require from us? Do justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with Him. How can we do this? Only by being saved by God’s grace, through faith in His Son, Jesus, and with the power of the Holy Spirit.

Come and let us do justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with our God, together, by grace through FAITH!

This entry was posted in 2 Samuel, Blessings, Commandments, Creation, Ephesians, Faith, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Word, Grace, Hebrews, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Job, Love, Mark, Mercy, Micah, Obedience, Praises, Prayer, Psalms, Repentance, September 2013, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Justly, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly, By Faith

  1. Pingback: Saul on the Damascus Road and his conversion, his Baptism by Ananias, and the Beginning of his Ministry – Acts Chapter 9 | Sunday School Bible Study

  2. Pingback: High Self-Esteem as Opposed to Humility (Philippians 2:1-16) | Sunday School Bible Study

Leave a comment