Delighting in God

All may look bright above him when all looks black and dark about him. ~ Matthew Henry

“Do not trust in a friend; do not put your confidence in a companion; guard the doors of your mouth from her who lies in your bosom. For son dishonors father, daughter rises against her mother, daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; a man’s enemies are the men of his own household. Therefore I will look to the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me.” ~ Micah 7:5-7

I thought I would share more of Matthew Henry’s commentary on these three verses:

“When a child of God has ever so much occasion to cry, Woe is me (as the prophet here, v.1) yet it may be a comfort to him that he has a God to look to, a God to come to, to fly to, in whom he may rejoice and have satisfaction. All may look bright above him when all looks black and dark about him. The prophet had been complaining that there was no comfort to be had, no confidence to be put, in friends and relations on earth, and this drives him to his God: Therefore I will look unto the Lord. The less reason we have to delight in any creature, the more reason we have to delight in God.”

No matter how hard life might be at this moment, no matter who has hurt you, no matter what ~ God will hear you. When you cry out to Him, He is there. He is the God of your salvation. What comfort to know that He is always here with us, promising to always love and never ever leave or abandon His children, those called by His name!

Today I am going to look for more reason to delight in my God. Wanna join me? 🙂

This entry was posted in Children, Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Joy, Life, Love, Men, Micah, Others, Salvation, September 2013, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

