Questions and Answers

I know it has been awhile since I’ve written a blog. Life marches on, God is good and faithful, and I’m happy to be writing again this morning!

We attended a prayer meeting a little over a week ago where the pastor* presented five questions to help foster our conversation with the Lord. They are as follows:

1.) What is something I need to start doing?
2.) What is something I need to stop doing?
3.) What is something that You’d like me to start speaking?
4.) What is something that You’d like me to stop speaking?
5.) What do You want me to contend in prayer for?

The pastor reminded us that we need to practice hearing the voice of God. (Does anyone else keep so busy talking in their prayer life that they forget to be still and listen ? Hmmm, maybe it’s just me.)

We worshiped for a bit, and then it was time for one on One, individual prayer time with God. While some people prayer walked and knelt, I sat in my chair, letting the worship music wash over me. I posed those five questions to God. And I heard Him answer my questions. Deep in my soul, I knew what He would like me to do. Now, I’m still working on the practical application in my daily life. And He is helping me figure out what that looks like, as well. But I heard and recognized His voice immediately

” ‘My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.’ ” ~ John 10:27-30

Interestingly, I’ve been studying through The Quest, a Beth Moore Bible study, and she poses five “recalibrating” questions:

1.) Where are you? (Genesis 3:9)
2.) Who told you that? (Genesis 3:11)
3.) What are you seeking? (John 1:38)
4.) Why are you afraid? (Matthew 8:26)
5.) How much more? (Luke 11:13)

Those questions, and the answers, have been so helpful as I evaluate and invest in my relationship with my Lord and Saviour on this crazy journey through life on earth. 

So apparently, in this season of my life, God is teaching me how to ask Him questions. After all, He is the all-knowing Creator of the universe, and He’s full of all the answers–if I will be still and listen. God longs for us to talk with Him, not just to Him. 

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. SELAH.” ~ Psalm 46:10-11

*Thanks to Pastor Danny Schulz at Sun City Church!

This entry was posted in August 2018, Faith, Faithfulness, Family, Fellowship, Genesis, God, God's Heart, John, Luke, Matthew, Mind, Prayer, Psalms, Sun City Church, The Nature of God, Waiting on the Lord, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment