I Will By No Means Abandon You

Abandoned. “I’ll bet everyone in this room has felt abandoned at one time in their lives.” Our pastor’s words stopped me cold. My heart was stricken. I was suddenly fighting back tears and attempting to maintain composure that only moments before had been calm, cool, and collected. Abandoned.

A young teenager, a sophomore in high school. Parents separated and divorcing. A choice to make. The oldest bird flew from the nest and settled in with the one most hated, leaving the other one overcome with feelings of anger and betrayal and hurt.

Months of angry silence and shunning. Others loved in the fragile and devastated bird’s place. Satan’s lies rattling around. “You are worthless. No one loves you. You should really just kill yourself. That would show them.”

Abandoned. I never realized that was how I felt.

Fast forward many years later. A boundary established. A plea to talk things through and fix the relationship. The assurances that I would always love her. Always. Offended by the boundary, the relationship was cut off completely. Gone.

Abandoned. I never realized that was how I felt.

“…For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’ ” ~ Hebrews 13:5b

I did not know that in the original Greek, the word used in this verse for “forsake”, egkataleipō, means “abandon, desert; totally abandoned, utterly forsake”.

The Greek word translated here as “leave”, aniēmi, means “to give up, omit; to leave, not to uphold, to let sink”.

But here is the best part. The Greek for “I will never”, ou mē, means “never, certainly not, not at all, by no means”.

So God is telling us ~ I will never, certainly not at all, by no means, leave, give up on, or let you sink, nor abandon, desert, or utterly forsake you. How wonderful, how glorious, how healing and comforting those words are to me!

No matter what happens with people on this earth – for we ALL disappoint and offend one another – God will never give up on us or abandon us. Never. Certainly not. Not at all. By no means. And that is very good news indeed. 🙂

*Note: For those of you who know me personally, I really struggled with sharing such intimate glimpses into my heart. But I felt God gently urging me to write this. I hope you know that I dearly love the one spoken of here, and I would never want this to be taken as “trash-talking” her. Ever. I know I have hurt her and hope forgiveness and restoration can one day occur.

“And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4

This entry was posted in Anger, Children, Family, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Hebrews, Lies, Love, Revelation, Satan, September 2013, The Past. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will By No Means Abandon You

  1. Cindy Jackson says:

    Thanks — hugs to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

