Time With Jesus

This morning I am relishing the thought of spending this entire day AT HOME. Not since Thanksgiving have I spent a whole day in the comfort and safety of home. I’ve been anticipating this day with great joy, and I may or may not get out of my jammies. I even added “veg in purple chair” and “write!” to my Any.do app for today… I do believe life has been a bit out-of-control-ridiculously-overscheduled lately.

But you see, my husband and I both serve in ministry. Two different ministries. And we contribute our time, talent, and treasure substantially to them both. Which is wonderful, but extremely taxing. And so when days like this come along, they are meant to be savored and treasured and celebrated! (Donuts anyone?)

Currently I’m studying through the book of Luke. Ironically, I read chapter 10 today…the story of Martha and Mary. Hmmm.

“Now it happened as they went that He entered a certain village; and a certain woman named Martha welcomed Him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word. But Martha was distracted with much serving, and she approached Him and said, ‘Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Therefore tell her to help me.’ And Jesus answered and said to her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.’ ” ~ Luke 10:38-42

Now as a doer, and a busy servant, I think Martha gets a bad rap oftentimes. Her role is vital. After all, if Martha isn’t fixing dinner and getting things ready for the Master, no one is going to eat! (And we all need to eat.) I suspect her love language was “acts of service”.  😉 I can so relate!

And then you have Mary, simply sitting at Jesus’ feet and soaking in every word. I suspect her love language may have been “quality time”.

But there were things needing to be done! Oh my goodness, as Christians we must be careful not to compare or critique one another’s spiritual gifts and “membership” in the body of Christ.

I did a bit of digging for the meanings of some of the Greek words in this passage. “Martha was distracted”…perispao–over-occupied, too busy (oh, how that often describes me)…”with much serving”…diakonia–service, ministering, preparing food (all good, important, and necessary).

“Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things”…merimnao–caring for, anxious, providing–thorybazo–troubled, disquieted–polys–many, much, large things. Again, nothing wrong with that…however…

“But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part”…chreia–necessity, need, duty, business–agathos–good, excellent, honorouble, joyful–meris–assigned part, portion, share…

When I get so wrapped up in serving–over-occupied and too busy–I miss out on my portion of that good and joyful necessity: to sit at Jesus’ feet and soak in every word. Oh, I still pray and read the Bible, but there is just something about taking time to be still and let Jesus soak in and restore your soul.

So today (okay, this morning…because this Martha has so many Christmasy things to do later!), I am choosing to be a Mary. And as this year draws to a close, and a fresh new year looms, I’m hoping to be more intentional with my schedule and choose to spend time at Jesus’ feet regularly. I long for His words to permeate my soul. How about you?

May you have a blessed, joyous, and Christ-filled holiday season. I think I’m going to rest here a bit longer…

image

This entry was posted in Blessings, Christmas, December 2016, Healing, Jesus, Life, Luke, Martha, Mary, Rest, Self, Waiting on the Lord, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time With Jesus

  1. Nancy Carlson says:

    I can relate to this and this is my desire, too! Aunt Nancy

Leave a Reply

