My Shepherd Restores My Soul

A Psalm of David.
“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.” ~ Psalm 23

He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul.

This is such a familiar Psalm! I memorized it when I was in the second or third grade. I think it perhaps became too familiar to me. Until I woke up this morning feeling that my soul had been restored.

There are times in life that everything gets too busy. People and/or jobs put crazy hard demands on us, and it feels like it is just too much. These past two weeks have been TOO MUCH. And my soul was worn and weary. Empty.

But God knew all that was coming. He sees our crazy, overbooked calendars and busy, busy lives. And HE sends us just what we need. When we need it. In His perfect timing. Like the Good Shepherd…

“Then Jesus said to them again, ‘Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who ever came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them. I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly. I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives His life for the sheep…
My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.’ ” ~ John 10:7-11, 27-30

My Shepherd has restored my soul. He  is my Door, my Savior, my eternal Life, my Leader, my Protector, my Song. Is He yours? Do you know His voice? Listen and follow Him beside the still waters. He will restore your soul!

(I thought I’d share some pics of my morning writing this outside. God uses His creation to restore my soul. Flowers, food, family, faith, animals, sunshine, music, REST. Working in the soil, reading His word. How does He restore yours?)

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

How marvelous! How wonderful!  And my song shall ever be: How marvelous! How wonderful! Is my Savior’s love for me!
(The refrain from My Savior’s Love by Charles H. Gabriel)

This entry was posted in Blessings, Contentment, Creation, David, Faith, Family, God, Healing, Heart, Heaven, Hope, Jesus, John, Joy, Life, Love, May 2016, Men, Mind, Others, Peace, Praises, Psalms, Refreshment, Rest, Salvation, Shepherd, Singing, The Father, The Son. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

