Restoration and Refreshment

We are finishing up a week at the Oregon coast, relishing our last day with one of the most incredible views ever created. Our bodies and souls are rested, our hearts are happy, and our spirits are refreshed. God is so good!

How easy it is to forget that needing a rest from daily work is a concept created and modeled by God Himself. We continue full bore working at our jobs, our homes, our churches– often times without realizing that we are never getting refilled and restored enough to be able to continue to work well at our jobs, our homes, our churches. 

When we arrived here last Friday, we were all weary. Spiritual warfare had wounded our hearts, physical exhaustion was weighing on our bodies and souls, and despair and defeat had seeped into our spirits. What a difference it makes to take some time to just be. Whether it means an afternoon, or *gasp* an entire day or week to put aside daily chores and read or go fishing or sew or hike or play games with your family, we need to rest.

“And on the seventh day God ended His work which He had done, and He rested on the seventh day from all His work which He had done. Then God blessed the seventh day and sanctified it, because in it He rested from all His work which God had created and made.” ~ Genesis 2:2-3

” ‘See! For the LORD has given you the Sabbath; therefore He gives you on the sixth day bread for two days. Let every man remain in his place; let no man go out of his place on the seventh day.’ So the people rested on the seventh day.” ~ Exodus 16:29-30

“Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him; do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass.” ~ Psalm 37:7

“Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, and uphold me by Your generous Spirit.” ~ Psalm 51:12

“A Psalm of David. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.” ~ Psalm 23
  

This entry was posted in Blessings, Contentment, Creation, Exodus, Faithfulness, Family, Refreshment, Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

