Bitter Words and Fiery Darts

We were suckerpunched this past week with a shock-and-awe confirmation that someone near and dear has been spreading lies about us. The heartbreak was breathtaking. We were left stunned, broken, wounded, devastated, heartsick. Because of lies. Because of the one who told them, and because of those who believed them. 

Really? Don’t you know us better than that? How could you even think that was true?

“Hear my voice, O God, in my meditation; preserve my life from fear of the enemy. Hide me from the secret plots of the wicked…who sharpen their tongue like a sword, and bend their bows to shoot their arrows– bitter words, that they may shoot in secret at the blameless; suddenly they shoot at him and do not fear.” ~ Psalm 64:1-2a, 3-4

As I work through the fallout, the Holy Spirit is bringing Scriptures to mind. (Just another reason to read, study, and memorize God’s Word!!) 

First of all, Christian, we MUST be putting on our spiritual armor (Ephesians 6:10-18). 

Gird your waist with truth (“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” ~ John 8:32); put on the breastplate of righteousness (to protect your heart!); shod your feet with the gospel of peace (“As it is written: ‘How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace, who bring glad tidings of good things!’ ” ~ Romans 10:15b); take up the shield of faith to quench the fiery darts from Satan (that are sometimes shot via “friendly fire”); wear the helmet of salvation (to protect your mind!); and carry the sword of the Spirit– the word of God (“For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” ~ Hebrews 4:12).

Next, it’s okay to hurt. To mourn, to grieve, to cry. Jesus will weep right alongside you (John 11:35). 

“You number my wanderings; put my tears into Your bottle; are they not in Your book?” ~ Psalm 56:8

“The spirit of a man will sustain him in sickness, but who can bear a broken spirit?” ~ Proverbs 18:14

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.” ~ Psalm 147:3

And guess what? Jesus warned us that hard times would come. But He also promised His Holy Spirit will be right here with us.

” ‘Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves. Therefore be wise as serpents and harmless as doves. But beware of men, for they will deliver you up to councils and scourge you in their synagogues. You will be brought before governors and kings for My sake, as a testimony to them and to the Gentiles. But when they deliver you up, do not worry about how or what you should speak. For it will be given to you in that hour what you should speak; for it is not you who speak, but the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you. Now brother will deliver up brother to death, and a father his child; and children will rise up against parents and cause them to be put to death. And you will be hated by all for My name’s sake. But he who endures to the end will be saved.’ ” ~ Matthew 10:16-22

Finally, we are protected in the hand of Jesus, loved so very much that He prays for us, and called to love others like He loves, no matter what.

” ‘My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand.’ ” ~ John 10:27-28

” ‘But now I come to You, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have My joy fulfilled in themselves. I have given them Your word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. I do not pray that You should take them out of the world, but that You should keep them from the evil one.’ ” ~ John 17:13-15

” ‘You have heard that it was said, “You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.” But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you,’ ” ~ Matthew 5:43-44

And so, I am clinging to God’s promises and trusting that He will take care of us, in all things.

” ‘Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.’ ” ~ John 14:1-3

” ‘These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.’ ” ~ John 16:33

In Jesus we have peace and joy! No matter what.  ðŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Armor of God, Cursing, Ephesians, Faith, Faithfulness, Family, Fear, Forgiveness, Friends, God, God's Promises, God's Word, Healing, Heart, Hebrews, Holy Spirit, Hope, Jesus, John, Joy, Lies, Life, Love one another, Lying, Matthew, Men, Mind, Mourning, November 2015, Others, Peace, Prayer, Proverbs, Psalms, Romans, Satan, The Gospel, The Spirit, The Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bitter Words and Fiery Darts

  1. talk2tia says:

    I’m with you my friend. I’ve been there and been devastated beyond what I could imagine. And worse I’ve had friends believe the lies and cut off years of friendship. I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through this. Call anytime. Prayers always. 💞

Leave a Reply

