Easter Weekend Contemplation

Ever have a Saturday morning when you sit down with your largish cup of coffee and are immediately overwhelmed by the tasks awaiting you? Every weekend, you say? I suppose if I were truthful, I would have to agree that it is most every weekend for me, as well. I am currently tackling a pile of paperwork, including taxes and bills, correspondence and bookkeeping– both personal and ministerial. Sigh.

My desk is positioned in the perfect corner of the living room, commanding a view of both west and north-facing windows. (When we purchased this house, that was the first placement of furniture I decided on– as a writer, I wanted an inviting spot to write!) I gaze out and watch the small aircraft descending for landing at the small airport nearby. Birds occasionally drop in at the pretty little feeder I placed strategically by the front window. (They prefer the sturdier– translation: homely– feeder in the backyard hanging by the decades-old ginormous rose bush.) 

Today the blue sky and soft fluffy clouds are calling to me. Do you really have to get this paperwork stuff done right now? Aren’t there other things you’d rather be doing? Well, duh, of course! And so I contemplate. And so I write…

This is Easter weekend, a time when we think on what the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, means to us. And while my heart is thankful and filled with the joy of knowing that I am forgiven and have the hope of eternal life with God, my mind is crammed full of the day-to-day drama and minutiae of life on this wounded planet. 

Family. Friends. Health. Finances. Chores. Employment. All hold some good, bad, and ugly. It depends on whether the glass appears half-empty, half-full, or just right.

Family. Memories of years gone by, with kiddos shrieking and racing around to find hidden Easter eggs. Broken relationships. Hurting souls. Dear ones passed on. New kiddos entering the mix. Grown children, weaving lives into unique tapestries all their own… Mary must have experienced similar feelings, as she watched her Son hanging on a cross, suffering and dying. His brothers didn’t believe in Him (yet). She apparently had been widowed by this time. Jesus had a path to take all His own, and though Mary trusted God, it must have been painful and hard to understand. She couldn’t quite see the “big picture”– like you and me– and that is when everything else is stripped away and you must simply trust, clinging to the Father.

Friends. Again, memories of precious times shared together. Some stick with you through thick and thin. Others fall away and then come back later. Many walk away for good. A handful seem genuine yet actually hold a hidden knife, like fingers crossed when swearing to be true, instead waiting to betray… Didn’t Jesus experience all this and more? He had friends who never wavered in their belief in Him, even when in hiding. Some who ran away, then repented and returned. Others walked away for good. And one who only acted the part of friend, inflicting his wound of betrayal with a brotherly kiss. Trust, clinging to the Father.

The list goes on. Health. Finances. Chores. Employment… Jesus, His family, and His disciples experienced it all, in some way, like we do today. Remember, there is nothing new under the sun.

“All things are full of labor; man cannot express it. The eye is not satisfied with seeing, nor the ear filled with hearing. That which has been is what will be, that which is done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun. Is there anything of which it may be said, ‘See, this is new’? It has already been in ancient times before us. There is no remembrance of former things, nor will there be any remembrance of things that are to come by those who will come after.” ~ Ecclesiastes 1:8-11

Trust, clinging to the Father.

I sit here, watching a small plane bank to make its final approach, and think of what a gift each moment is. How I choose to view the piles of paperwork and household chores awaiting me, is up to me. I am responsible for my attitude, for my perspective, for my approach. Is my life half-empty, half-full, or just right? 

God sees the “big picture” of my life and yours. If Mary’s Son hadn’t been crucified, she– and the rest of the world (John 3:16)– would face death without hope of any real life. We can see how God worked everything together for good (Romans 8:28). 

Jesus’ brothers later came to believe in Him and penned two of our New Testament books. The disciples lived their faith boldly –all willing to die for the Gospel, all taking the great commission to heart (Matthew 28:18-20) like we ought to, as well– and many also penned books found in the New Testament. 

My thoughts definitely meandered, didn’t they? How wonderful that God has a plan far greater than anything that you and I can imagine, and that He sees the “big picture” as we face the little– and big– challenges of our everyday, sometimes mundane, lives. He takes each little moment and pieces them together into a beautiful life. A life that is just right.

And now I must return to my tasks for this sunny Saturday. Trusting and clinging to the Father…

“To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven:” ~ Ecclesiastes 3:1

This entry was posted in April 2015, Children, Contentment, Disciples, Easter, Easter, Ecclesiastes, Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Word, Heart, History, Hope, Jesus, John, Joy, Life, Matthew, Mind, Romans, Salvation, The Father, The Gospel, The Past, The Son, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easter Weekend Contemplation

  1. Nancy Carlson says:

    This was very helpful Debbie. Trusting is definitely a big factor in our relationship with God. I often think of the song I learned in Sunday School “Trust and Obey for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey!” Something I am still being challenged with even at this stage of life, as there is always something or someone entering my life for which I need to trust God. Happy Easter to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

