Restorer of My Soul

Today is one of those days. My heart is overwhelmed, my soul is weary, and my body is just plain tired. I want to either lie down and have a good cry (alas, no alone time) or sit and have a pity party (does chocolate with my morning coffee count?).

I am currently studying through the book of Joshua, but apparently God knew I needed the Psalms this morning. My Bible fell open to Psalm 23-24, and my soul immediately took comfort from the familiar words.

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.” ~ Psalm 23:1-3

The LORD, YHWH, Jehovah, G-D is my shepherd. MY shepherd. I am tended to, cared for, completely protected and perfectly loved by the awesome, all-powerful, all-knowing, all-present Creator of the universe!

“I shall not want.” This does not simply mean that God will meet all my needs. This also is a statement by David that he lacks for nothing. “What else could I want?” If I have God, there is nothing else I truly need. My soul’s deepest longing is for God alone.

“As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?… O my God, my soul is cast down within me; therefore I will remember You…” ~ Psalm 42:1-2, 6a

O God, my soul is indeed “cast down within me”. Therefore I will (I choose to) remember You, to seek after You. And I will remind myself that You are the restorer of my soul.

“Who is this King of glory? The LORD of hosts, He is the King of glory.” ~ Psalm 24:10

“Hear my cry, O God; attend to my prayer. From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. For You have been a shelter for me, a strong tower from the enemy.” ~ Psalm 61:1-3

When my heart is overwhelmed
I will look to You alone
God my rock, God my rock, God my rock
You will stand when others fall
You are faithful through it all
God my rock, God my rock, God my rock

In the blessing, in the pain
through it all You’ve never failed me

You are the strength of my heart
You are the strength of my heart
I can rely on You, I can rely on You
You are the joy of my life
You are my song in the night
There is no one as true
Jesus I trust in You

When I’ve struggled to believe
You have not let go of me
God my rock, God my rock, God my rock
Carried through the darkest storms
You have held me in Your arms
God my rock God my rock God my rock

~ From the song “God My Rock” by Brenton Brown

This entry was posted in Creation, David, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Hope, January 2015, Knowledge, Life, Love, Mind, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

