The Beginning of Grace

I was talking with a friend the other day, and she was curious about what has been keeping me so busy lately. I rattled off assorted commitments and activities, and yet it seemed that there should have been more. My mind went blank. Why have I been so busy? What in the world have I been up to?

Perhaps I ought to get back to journalling, or proudly post to social media about my accomplishments each day. But why? So I can prove my worth, that I really do work hard and keep busy? And to whom am I trying to prove this? Myself? Others? God? Hmm…

And then this little verse grabbed my attention this morning.

“But Noah found grace in the eyes of the LORD.” ~ Genesis 6:8

In many other versions of the Bible, this Hebrew word chen is translated as “favor”, but in the KJV and the NKJV, it is “grace”. And it captured and quieted my heart immediately. Another beginning in the book of Genesis: the beginning of grace. God’s perfect and scandalous grace. His unearned, undeserved love and mercy and kindness and forgiveness. Grace.

Why did Noah find grace in God’s eyes?

“Noah was a just man, perfect in his generations. Noah walked with God.” ~ Genesis 6:9b

Now, we all know that no man has ever been, nor ever will be, truly perfect, except Jesus when He became a man and walked on the earth, fully human and fully God. So I looked up the Hebrew word used here. It is tamiym, meaning “sound, wholesome, unimpaired, innocent, having integrity”.

Noah was a just man, sound, wholesome, unimpaired and innocent, having integrity. And he walked with God.

The Hebrew word translated as “walked” is halak, which means, “to walk, to go, to live, to die, to proceed; a manner of life”. I like that.

I want to be just and have integrity, be found sound, wholesome, and innocent in a corrupt and broken world, and make walking with God a manner of life. And death.

Thankfully, we can all find grace in God’s eyes, through faith in Jesus Christ as our Saviour. And when forgiven, cleansed by Jesus’ blood, and clothed in His righteousness, we are truly seen as just, unimpaired and innocent, having integrity. And with help from His Holy Spirit, we can make walking with God a manner of life. And death.

So, no matter what I may accomplish today – no matter what – because of Jesus, I am assured of this: I have found grace in the eyes of the LORD. And really, truly, nothing else matters. 🙂

This entry was posted in Faith, Forgiveness, Friends, Genesis, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Grace, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Life, Love, Lovingkindness, Men, Mercy, Noah, Obedience, Others, Salvation, September 2014, Worth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

