My SELF

Last night I had an epiphany. Well, sort of. Not quite. Actually, something the visiting pastor said in his message struck me. Something that had not really occurred to me before, so simple yet so profound.

Most of us are familiar with this passage in Romans:

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? …
For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” ~ Romans 8:35, 38-39

That is quite a list of powerful foes that cannot come between us and God. But guess what? There is one thing that can separate me from God and His love. My self. Yep. Profound, isn’t it?

It was my sinful self that separated me from God, before I my self recognized my need for a saviour and chose to believe in Jesus by God’s grace ~ unearned, undeserved mercy and love and forgiveness and kindness.

And now, though I am His child and a part of the Church, His bride, I can still allow my self to get between us. It may be unconfessed sin that I am inexplicably holding on to. Or perhaps I spurn Him, deciding that I my self am just not feeling up to spending time with Him praying, reading the Bible, or obediently sharing my testimony with another. If I my self am not walking with God DAILY, I will slowly walk away from Him.

Maybe I my self don’t want to pick up my cross and follow Him. It is so hot, and I am weary. I might just want to throw my self a pity party instead. I don’t think God attends pity parties. He would prefer we throw parties for others instead of feeling sorry for our selves. 😉

See my somewhat silly point about my self? It is a choice, Christian. A daily choice that we our selves must make. Do we want a closer walk with Him? We our selves must take the time to BE with God. Or are we our selves going to allow other things to come between us and our loving Heavenly Father? It is a “slow fade”*, when we let the things of this world creep in and cause a distance between our selves and God’s love. And we our selves can get hurt and hurt others, as we slowly drift away from the safety of God’s loving plan for us.

God’s love is always there for us. He Himself is always there for us. Are we our selves there with Him? God has done His part. He sent Jesus to pay our death penalty, to conquer death and Satan, that we our selves may never be separated from Him.

There is nothing that can separate us from God and from His love for us. Except self. Have you your self chosen Jesus as your Saviour? Have you your self chosen to WALK with God today? 🙂

It’s a slow fade when you give yourself away
It’s a slow fade when black and white have turned to gray
Thoughts invade, choices are made, a price will be paid
When you give yourself away
People never crumble in a day

~ from the Casting Crowns song “Slow Fade” *

This entry was posted in Angels, Consequences, Creation, Death, Demons, Faith, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Heaven, Jesus, July 2014, Life, Love, Love one another, Mercy, Obedience, Others, Prayer, Romans, Salvation, Satan, Self, Sin Nature, The Bride of Christ, The Father. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

