Another Day, Another Battle

Broken. Battered. Betrayed. Battle weary. Wounded. Worn.

Lies and cruel words swirl. Relationships shatter. Hearts ache. Wrong is right. Right is brutalized. This world is not my home, this world is not my home, this world is not my home…

I sit and lick my wounds. And I remember. I need my armor.

“Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore…” ~ Ephesians 6:11-14a

Stand. Stand? I am lying in a crumpled heap on the floor. Stand?

Stand.

Gird your waist with truth.
Put on the breastplate of righteousness.
Shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace.
Take the shield of faith and use it to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.
Take, and put on, the helmet of salvation.
Pick up the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. Read your Bible.
Pray always. Be watchful to the end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints.
(from Ephesians 6:14-18)

Put on your armor. And then stand. Get back into the battle.

But I am too tired, too worn. The losses are too severe. The pain washes over me. How? How can I stand?

Stand. Take the shield of faith. Let your faith fight off all the fiery darts of the enemy. The lies. The angry words. The doubts. The fears. Oh child, where is your faith?

Stand. Pick up the sword of the Spirit. Pray. And REMEMBER God’s promises.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” ~ Philippians 4:13

“What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” ~ Romans 8:31

“The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” ~ Psalm 118:6

” ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’ ” ~ Hebrews 13:5b

Stand. I am called to stand. Not to engage in the battle. Simply to “armor up” and stand.

Oh child. Of course. For I am too weak, too weary, too worn. But God isn’t. He fights for me.

” ‘You will not need to fight in this battle. Position yourselves, stand still and see the salvation of the LORD, who is with you, O Judah and Jerusalem! Do not fear or be dismayed; tomorrow go out against them, for the LORD is with you.’ ” ~ 2 Chronicles 20:17

“And Moses said to the people, ‘Do not be afraid. Stand still, and see the salvation of the LORD, which He will accomplish for you today…The LORD will fight for you, and you shall hold your peace.’ ” ~ Exodus 14:13a, 14

I’m Tired I’m worn
My heart is heavy
From the work it takes
To keep on breathing
I’ve made mistakes
I’ve let my hope fail
My soul feels crushed
By the weight of this world

I know I need to lift my eyes up
But I’m too weak
Life just won’t let up
And I know that you can give me rest
So I cry out with all that I have left

My prayers are wearing thin
Yeah, I’m worn
Even before the day begins
Yeah, I’m worn
I’ve lost my will to fight
I’m worn
So, heaven come and flood my eyes

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart
That’s frail and torn
I wanna know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause all that’s dead inside will be reborn

Though I’m worn
Yeah I’m worn

(From the song Worn by Tenth Avenue North)

” ‘Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.’ ” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

This entry was posted in 2 Chronicles, Angels, Anger, Armor of God, Demons, Ephesians, Exodus, Faith, Fear, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Grace, Hatred, Healing, Heart, Heaven, Hebrews, Hell, Holy Spirit, Hope, Jesus, July 2014, Lies, Life, Love, Matthew, Men, Mercy, Mind, Moses, Peace, Philippians, Prayer, Psalms, Romans, Salvation, Satan, The Gospel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Day, Another Battle

  1. Pingback: Arise Prayer Warriors | Prayers and Promises

Leave a Reply

