The Heart of a Parent

“And I will very gladly spend and be spent for your souls;” ~ 2 Corinthians 12:15a

What a statement! The apostle Paul truly loved each of the churches that received letters from him. He looked at them as his children in Christ, since he played a part in their new birth and new life, and he earnestly desired God’s best for each one of them.

As we head into this Mother’s Day weekend, I am struck by the similarity between Paul’s heart and mine. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I am no Paul! I am simply a broken vessel, being reshaped and restored by God for His purposes. But as a mom, I feel this same passion for my kiddos ~ I will very gladly spend and be spent for their souls. What greater thing can I hope than to have God’s best for each and every one of them?

For those of you who are parents, isn’t that your heart as well? Oh, that our kiddos would have hearts and souls belonging to God! Oh, that we might encourage and bless them like Paul did his spiritual children:

“Become complete. Be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in peace; and the God of love and peace will be with you… The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Spirit be with you all. Amen.” ~ 2 Corinthians 13:11b, 14

For, like the apostle John:

“I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.” ~ 3 John 4

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

Note: If you enjoy going to the movies, be sure to go see “Moms’ Night Out” ~ you will laugh and be encouraged. Trust me. 🙂

This entry was posted in 2 Corinthians, 3 John, Apostles, Children, Church, Family, God, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Holy Spirit, Jesus, John, Joy, Life, Love, Love one another, May 2014, Paul, Peace, The Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

