No Roof Over Your Head

There is nothing like climbing into bed after a crazy long day. Burrowing into your pillow, tugging the blankets up to your chin, listening to the gentle blowing of the wind and the low drumming of rain. Where your roof used to be. Ah, there is nothing like it!

We are in the tumultuous process of selling our home and moving to a new one. Though our roof had about ten good years left in it, the buyers decided they simply had to have a new one put on before closing. March is such a nice dry month for roofing, don’t you think? Sigh. The roofer looked at the forecast yesterday and decided it would be a good day to remove the roof. Unfortunately, the forecast after was nothing but moist. And that is how we found ourselves listening to assorted pieces of roofing materials (tar paper? a few stray shingles?) falling from the top of our beloved home. Needless to say, we had two frightened cats by our sides all night long.

Why do I share this? Because, although this has been nerve-wracking to say the least, we have seen God’s hands in every bump and hiccup. He hasn’t spared us the pain and frustration (nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen *), but He has shared them with us, carrying our burdens and speaking peace to the waves. We know He has chosen our next home (and ultimately, our true home is in heaven!), and so we are able to rest in the knowledge that He is going to see that everything comes together according to His perfect plan. Even if the attic fills with water, light fixtures come tumbling down, and tar paper sails away in the storm.

“He calms the storm, so that its waves are still.” ~ Psalm 107:29 More often than not, God calms the storm in me before He calms the one swirling around me.

“He gives rain on the earth, and sends waters on the fields.” ~ Job 5:10 God was not surprised by the weather. He knew this would happen, and He has it all under control. Somehow.

“For You have been a shelter for me, a strong tower from the enemy.” ~ Psalm 61:3 Oh, how I love God’s shelter!

The funny (ha ha and strange) thing is that through all the craziness of selling, buying, moving, etc., my heart is being changed. Slowly – oh so slowly, wretched (wo)man that I am (Romans 7:24) – God is molding and shaping me, softening my angry, hurt heart into a pliable one that is more pleasing to Him. I have been reading through the book of Romans – which is BRIMMING with incredible words of conviction, encouragement, and affirmation for our faith – and I was especially struck by this passage:

“But indeed, O man, who are you to reply against God? Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why have you made me like this?’ Does not the potter have power over the clay…?” ~ Romans 9:20-21a

Once we choose faith in Jesus, and are saved by the grace of God alone through that faith, we try to live our lives surrendered to God. Why? Because the potter understands, sees, and knows the finished work, while the clay may have opinions about how things should be but cannot envision what it will become during the squeezing and squishing, pummeling and pounding required to sculpt it into the perfect masterpiece made by the Master Creator. We are vessels, created to serve our Maker in unique and beautiful ways. Though we’d like to think we are worthy of becoming a piece of fine china, God’s plan for us may be everyday dinnerware! Or perhaps you’d think more of yourself as a spittoon. God instead might be shaping you into a rare exquisite vase. ๐Ÿ™‚

Whatever His plan for us, it is good (James 1:17). Even if the roof caves in and the sky is falling…

* I had not remembered that Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen is an old spiritual, sung and recorded by the likes of Sam Cooke and Louis Armstrong. My grandfather used to sing it to me as a child, but just the opening line! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the lyrics:

Nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen
Nobody knows but Jesus
Nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen
Glory hallelujah!
Sometimes I’m up, sometimes I’m down
Oh, yes, Lord
Sometimes I’m almost to the ground
Oh, yes, Lord
Although you see me going ‘long so
Oh, yes, Lord
I have my trials here below
Oh, yes, Lord
If you get there before I do
Oh, yes, Lord
Tell all-a my friends I’m coming to Heaven!
Oh, yes, Lord

This entry was posted in Creation, Family, Fear, God, God's Faithfulness, Grace, Heart, Heaven, James, Jesus, Job, Life, March 2014, Men, Obedience, Psalms, Romans, Submission, The Future, Waiting on the Lord, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Roof Over Your Head

  1. Pingback: The Lamb of God Who Takes Away the Sins of the World | Sunday School Bible Study

Leave a Reply

