These Things I Have Spoken

Have I mentioned how much I love the book of John? 🙂 Such beloved verses found in its chapters ~ Jesus’ words, so clearly spoken. Enjoy, and be encouraged!

” ‘Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.’ ” ~ John 14:1-3 (I cannot wait for heaven!)

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.’ ” ~ John 14:6 (A bold statement: Jesus is the way, the truth, the life. There is no other way to God except through Him, period.)

” ‘And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.’ ” ~ John 14:13-14 (In My name means according to Jesus’ nature, will, and plan- if we ask anything that lines up with the Father’s will, He will do it.)

” ‘And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever– the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you…These things I have spoken to you while being present with you. But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you. Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.’ ”
” ‘But when the Helper comes, whom I shall send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who proceeds from the Father, He will testify of Me. And you also will bear witness, because you have been with Me from the beginning.’ ” ~ John 14:16-18, 25-27; 15:26-27 (I love the teaching on the Holy Spirit and His role in our lives: our Helper who abides with us forever (we are not alone, as “orphans”), the Spirit of truth sent from the Father who dwells with us and in us, the Teacher of all things who brings to our mind all God’s words and promises, and our Peace. And in chapter 15, we are given a way to test the Spirit: He should be always testifying of Jesus. If you are not led toward Jesus, it is not from the Holy Spirit.)

” ‘Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing…If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples.’ ” ~ John 15:4-5, 7-8 (Apart from God, we can do nothing. And again, when we are abiding in Jesus, and He abides in us, our hearts will seek after His kingdom and not our own, and our desires will become like His.)

” ‘These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.’ ” ~ John 15:11-15 (Jesus calls me friend!)

” ‘If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you…But all these things they will do to you for My name’s sake, because they do not know Him who sent Me. If I had not come and spoken to them, they would have no sin, but now they have no excuse for their sin. He who hates Me hates My father also.’ ” ~ John 15:18-19, 21-23 (The world will hate us if we are truly following after Jesus, because they hate Jesus, the Light who shines on the darkness and reveals their sin, and their guilt. Let’s point them to Jesus, anyway, that those who might choose to believe on Him will be saved!)

This entry was posted in Commandments, Fear, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, January 2014, Jesus, John, Joy, Life, Light, Love, Love one another, Men, Mind, Obedience, October 2012, Others, Peace, Prayer, Salvation, The Nature of God, The Truth, The Way, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These Things I Have Spoken

  1. Pingback: High Self-Esteem as Opposed to Humility (Philippians 2:1-16) | Sunday School Bible Study

Leave a Reply

