Loving the World, Hating the Dark

Oh dear one, how I hurt for you! The chains that bind you must be so heavy. I know Someone who would gladly break those chains, if you’d only let Him.

Lay down your burdens. The pain, heartache, disappointment, despair. Those horrors that haunt you in the night. Your regrets and defeats. Give them all to Jesus. He wants to lavish upon you His grace, healing, rest, peace, joy, and hope.

You think I am judging you, that I am thinking myself of more value, or better, or less of a sinner. Oh, that is not so, and my heart breaks to know you feel that way. If my words or actions communicate that to you, I am desperately sorry. I am no better, just a sinner saved by God’s grace. And I stumble, again and again.

“For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me…O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? I thank God– through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.” ~ Romans 7:19-20, 24-25

You may think you are doing just fine the way you are. But you are lost, my friend.

“There is a way that seems right to a man, but its end is the way of death.” ~ Proverbs 14:12

“And Jesus, when He came out, saw a great multitude and was moved with compassion for them, because they were like sheep not having a shepherd. So He began to teach them many things.” ~ Mark 6:34

Listen to Jesus! He knows the way. He is the way.

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.’ ” ~ John 14:6

I love you and wish for you the joy and peace that can only be found in the forgiveness and grace offered freely by God, through Jesus. He loves you extravagantly.

Did you know God has known you since before you were born? He has amazing things planned for you, if only you would come and see.

“My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.” ~ Psalm 139:15-16

Lay down your burdens. Roll them onto Jesus. Accept God’s free gift of grace ~ unearned, undeserved love and forgiveness and mercy ~ through faith in Jesus.

Let Jesus loose your chains, and be free!

” ‘Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.’ ” ~ John 8:36

I want to be near, near to Your heart
Loving the world, hating the dark
I want to see dry bones living again
Singing as one

Hallelujah, holy, holy
God Almighty, the great I AM
Who is worthy, none beside Thee
God Almighty, the great I AM
~ from the song “The Great I AM” by Phillips, Craig, and Dean

This entry was posted in Death, Faith, Forgiveness, Friends, God, Grace, Healing, Heart, Hope, January 2014, Jesus, John, Joy, Life, Love, Mark, Men, Mercy, Others, Peace, Proverbs, Psalms, Romans, Salvation, Shepherd, Sin Nature, The Truth, The Way. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

