Of Birds, Ice, and Men

Whispers in the dark coming to light for all to hear. Birds. Hair. Blasphemy. Covetousness. Barns. Worries. Food and fashion. More birds. Flowers. Treasure. A thief in the night. Faithful servants. No peace on earth. Weather. Judicial disagreements. Luke 12 is certainly an interesting and diverse chapter of the New Testament, overflowing with the wisdom found in Jesus’ teachings! I encourage you to go and read the whole chapter for yourself. I am going to highlight only a few of the jewels that buoyed my spirit.

” ‘Are not five sparrows sold for two copper coins? And not one of them is forgotten before God. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.’ ” ~ Luke 12:6-7

I never grow weary of reading these verses. The very hairs of my head are numbered! God knows me that intimately. And cares for me that much.

My cats and I love birds. I make sure there is plenty of seed in the feeders and on the windowsill. The indoor kitties love to pounce and watch and drool by that aforementioned windowsill. The outdoor ranch kitties, unfortunately, love to pounce and eat and drool there, also. Yet even though the cats manage to catch and eat a bird now and then, there are always dozens of them feeding and singing and merrily flying about. And God knows all about them. He even knows when my kitties have “decreased the surplus population”.

“Then He said to His disciples, ‘Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; nor about the body, what you will put on. Life is more than food, and the body is more than clothing. Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap, which have neither storehouse nor barn; and God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds? And which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? If you then are not able to do the least, why are you anxious for the rest?’ ” ~ Luke 12:22-26

If God values, remembers, and cares for the birds, how much more does He value, remember, and care for us? Of how much more value are you than the birds?

” ‘And do not seek what you should eat or what you should drink, nor have an anxious mind. For all these things the nations of the world seek after, and your Father knows that you need these things. But seek the kingdom of God, and all these things shall be added to you. Do not fear, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.’ ” ~ Luke 12:29-32

Mikros poimnion in the Greek, meaning “little flock” or “small, young ones”. What a term of endearment from Jesus to His disciples, and to us. Don’t be afraid, little ones. He is so gentle and kind to us worriers!

I had to take a break in writing this blog, and during this break I hurriedly rushed out to feed our ranch animals. Unfortunately, I didn’t notice the smooth ice covered by a fresh skiff of snow and went down, hard, on my hip and elbow. About two minutes later, our horse fell on ice, as well. Yikes!

After a long soak in a hot tub, I am still quite sore and hoping nothing is broken. At first I cried out to God, “Why?” (And “OUCH!” and “Help me!”) Our oldest daughter’s wedding is less than two weeks away, and there is so much to be done! What if my arm is broken?? Then, as I was quiet before God, He gently showed me that everything would be okay. My head and back had been protected when I fell, hallelujah! He knows, He cares, and He provides. Even if my arm turns out to be broken.

Does God allow bad things to happen? Yes, I have seen my cats kill the very birds that God has created and cares for. I have mourned the loss of good, dear people, and untimely deaths. Is His plan best? Yes, I know in my heart that even when bad things happen, He uses them for good (Genesis 50:20).

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” ~ Romans 8:28

Do I always understand? NO! But I know He is trustworthy, and if He numbers the hairs of my head, values me more than sparrows, and has promised to meet my needs as I seek after Him and His kingdom, He will take care of me, no matter what may come my way.

And I will choose to praise Him “on the road marked with suffering, when there’s pain in the offering” as well as “when the sun’s shining down on me, when the world’s all as it should be… Blessed be Your name!” (from the song Blessed Be Your Name by Matt Redman).

Now I’m off to take more ibuprofen…

This entry was posted in Blessings, Creation, Death, December 2013, Faith, Faithfulness, Family, Fear, Genesis, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Jesus, Life, Luke, Men, Mind, Mourning, Nature, Praises, Prayer, Romans, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

