Raindrops, Hondas, and Confident Obedience

“The earth shook; The heavens also dropped rain at the presence of God; Sinai itself was moved at the presence of God, the God of Israel. You, O God, sent a plentiful rain, Whereby You confirmed Your inheritance, When it was weary. Your congregation dwelt in it; You, O God, provided from Your goodness for the poor.” ~ Psalm 68:8-10 (NKJV)

After many weeks of hot dry weather, today we are enjoying a good cleansing rain. Although I’m not sure how our local farmers feel, I am welcoming it. Sometimes a deep drenching is what I need.

Are you coated with the dusty muck of life right now? I certainly have gotten bogged down and covered in the daily grime. The cleansing power of time spent with God ~ in the Word, in prayer, and in praise and thanksgiving ~ is refreshing and restorative to our souls.

Raindrops, so many raindrops, it feels like rain drops, falling from my eyes… *

As a family, we keep having challenges and difficulties crop up in our lives, the latest being another stolen car (don’t own an older Honda!). While the car itself may not have been of much monetary value, the personal items inside and the transportation it afforded were highly valued, dare I say of the greatest importance? And though I trust God and His plans, I do not understand God and His plans. “What now, Lord? How is he supposed to get to work, to school?” Yet, I suppose that is what makes God GOD. We simply cannot comprehend nor understand Him or His ways.

” ‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,’ says the LORD. ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.’ ” ~ Isaiah 55:8-9 (NKJV)

Really, that is a relief. Because from where I am, things look like a mess, hopeless and incredibly discouraging. But because I know God is looking at things from His perspective, everything will be okay. Somehow. Because God is GOD. And He is in control. He is trustworthy. And I must choose to trust Him.

And really, that is the crux of faith.

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” ~ Hebrews 11:1 (NKJV)

Our pastor is teaching the book of Hebrews on Friday nights. He mentioned that this is not necessarily a definition of faith, but instead it describes how faith works. Faith can be defined as “the confident obedience to God’s word in spite of circumstances and in spite of consequences”.

So today, I am going to choose to trust God, confidently obeying Him in spite of my circumstances, and in spite of the consequences.

I may also go stand in the rain, letting raindrops fall from my eyes…

* from the song Raindrops by Dee Clark

This entry was posted in August 2013, Consequences, Faith, Family, Fear, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Hall of Faith, Hebrews, Hope, Isaiah, Life, Obedience, Praises, Prayer, Psalms, Thanksgiving, Waiting on the Lord, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raindrops, Hondas, and Confident Obedience

  1. Krista says:

    As usual, your words are timely for me! Those raindrops have been falling a little too often in this “season” of my life…but I’m learning to let them fall. I think of the lyrics from Mercy Me, “…and I know there’ll be days when this life brings me pain, but if that’s what it takes to praise You, Jesus bring the rain”! Thanks for the encouragement, Debbie! 🙂

  2. Krista says:

    PS – I hope they find the thief who stole the car!!

  3. Pingback: The Holy Spirit – Our Helper | Sunday School Bible Study

Leave a Reply

