Jewels and Junk

This is going to be a different sort of blog post. I am sharing my heart, my life, my humanity, and my foibles with you today.

My week was a rough one. Tuesday in particular was a real winner. I arrived at the hair salon for a much-needed haircut, sat down in the chair with a smile on my face, and then my dear friend, therapist, and hair stylist leaned over and whispered, “When you get a minute, your shirt is on inside out.” Swell.

We had a good laugh, at my expense, and I left the salon (with my freshly coiffed hair and my shirt RIGHT side out) feeling better about life. My next stop was Costco to pick up a few important household staples (coffee, cheese and peanut butter) and grab one of their hot dogs for lunch. Because it was raining buckets and I had left my coat at home, I was using an umbrella, which slowed me down getting the food stowed in the car and the cart put away. In the meantime, someone was impatiently waiting for my parking spot (there were two other already vacant spots??), and since I am a people pleaser, I hurriedly jumped into my car and sat down. On my lunch. Yep. Can you imagine how grateful I was that I had skipped the condiments? Sigh. Good news. The hot dog was still in its wrapper. Flattened. But still in its wrapper.

I was nearly home when I received a phone call from my father. Our one-week-shy-of-twenty-years-old son had fallen while helping to clean off my dad’s roof and landed on his side, on a metal ladder. (He bent the ladder.) They were on their way to the hospital.

Racing the rest of the way home, I grabbed our youngest daughter and headed to the small-town hospital, an hour and a half away. By the time we arrived, the x-rays had revealed our son had fractured a rib, but his lungs were fine. He was bruised and sore but ALIVE, so this mama was thankful! Oh, and he had charmed all the women working in the ER. πŸ™‚

Throw in a funeral, a dilapidated-and-on-its-last-wheels lawn mower, moving our oldest son into his new home, a stressful business meeting, a new kitten who catnaps and doesn’t understand the importance of a full night’s sleep, a checkbook stretched to infinity and beyond, lots of tears, and multiple troubles with the Department of Licensing (plus a second chin showing up in my new driver’s license photo- how did that happen??) and you have my week in a nutshell.

But what else is contained within that nutshell? Love and pizza shared on a new deck at a new home filled with new hopes (although, it turns out a skunk lives under that deck…). Coffee with a good friend. Therapeutic laughter with my hair stylist. Family meals. Gratitude to God for sparing our son from more serious injuries. A surprise road trip to see my father (one of my favorite people!). Food brought to help another family having a harder week than ours. Thrift-storing with our youngest daughter. Stunning flowers and birds in our gardens. Porch swing dates with my hubby. Hot fudge brownie sundaes. Great conversations and time spent with our son while he is convalescing, before he flies the nest in the next month or so. A spontaneous pool party with a friend and her youngest kiddos. And plans to celebrate a bride and her groom tomorrow when we host her shower.

We don’t have to look far to find the little jewels of life. Those good moments that make the “junk” moments bearable. Every good thing that God gives.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” ~ James 1:17 (KJV)

How was your week? Have you plucked the jewels from the junk? And have you given thanks to God for “every good thing, every heart beat, every day we get to breathe” * ?

* from the song Every Good Thing by The Afters

This entry was posted in Blessings, Children, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, Heart, Hope, James, June 2013, Life, Love, Love one another, Men, Others, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jewels and Junk

  1. So glad I took the time to read this. (I’ve been so busy I’ve missed the last few.) I’m still praying for you daily, friend. Love you!

  2. kim says:

    Just have to say as your neighbor your youngest daughter is your only daughter I’ve ever met. Just sayin’. Blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

