A Time to Mourn

One of my husband’s friends passed away. And though I did not know this woman well, I join my sweet husband in mourning, shedding tears for him while he attempts to keep his composure at his job, for his sake and for the sake of all of his, and her, coworkers. For he has an oversized heart like the Grinch’s at the end of the oh-so-familiar story by Dr. Seuss, bursting with love for others.

Mere words cannot fix or comfort or explain or make things better. But God’s words can. So there I turned, and here I share what I found.

For my better half…

“There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven–
…A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance.” ~ Ecclesiastes 3:1, 4

” ‘Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.’ ” ~ Matthew 5:4

“I go about mourning without comfort; I stand up in the assembly and cry out for help.” ~ Job 30:28

“The joy of our hearts has ceased; our dancing has been turned into mourning.” ~ Lamentations 5:15

“Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.” ~ Romans 12:15

“Jesus wept.” ~ John 11:35

“My eye has also grown dim because of grief, and all my members are as a shadow.” ~ Job 17:7

“As for the days of our life, they contain seventy years, or if due to strength, eighty years, yet their pride is but labor and sorrow; for soon it is gone and we fly away.” ~ Psalm 90:10

“…for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” ~ Nehemiah 8:10b

“So the ransomed of the LORD will return, and come with joyful shouting to Zion; and everlasting joy will be on their heads. They will obtain gladness and joy, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.” ~ Isaiah 51:11

” ‘Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart; and YOU SHALL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS. For My yoke is easy, and My load is light.’ ” ~ Matthew 11:28-30

” ‘Therefore you too now have sorrow: but I will see you again, and your heart will rejoice, and no one takes your joy away from you.’ ” ~ John 16:22

“And He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there shall no longer be any death; there shall no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4

” ‘For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life.’ ” ~ John 3:16

~ In loving memory of Verna ~

This entry was posted in Ecclesiastes, Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Hope, Isaiah, Job, John, Joy, June 2013, Lamentations, Life, Love, Love one another, Matthew, Men, Mourning, Nehemiah, Others, Psalms, Revelation, Romans. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Time to Mourn

  1. I’m so sorry for his pain. Praying for him and for you.

Leave a Reply

