On Their Hearts I Will Write It

“Oh, that my head were waters, and my eyes a fountain of tears, that I might weep day and night for the slain of the daughter of my people!” ~ Jeremiah 9:1

I am reading through the book of Jeremiah. The prophet Jeremiah was compassionate toward the people around him, to the point that he wept for the lost of Judah. God told Jeremiah of the judgment that was coming should the nation not “remember, repent, and repeat”. And though Jeremiah shared God’s message with the people, they did not listen. They instead continued worshiping false gods and mocking the One True God, the God of their fathers.

When we look around us at the lost, the dying, the wounded and the wandering, do our hearts break? Are we moved to “weep day and night” for them? I had written in the margin of my Bible, “Give me a heart like this for the lost,” and this is still my prayer today as I read this passage yet again. Oh God, give us Your heart for the lost and broken of our world!

The Bible has a lot to say about our hearts.

“And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.” ~ Deuteronomy 6:5 (KJV) Jesus added to this, “and your neighbor as yourself,” in Luke 10:27.

“And now, Israel, what doth the LORD thy God require of thee, but to fear the LORD thy God, to walk in all his ways, and to love him, and to serve the LORD thy God with all thy heart and with all thy soul,” ~ Deuteronomy 10:12 (KJV)

“But take diligent heed to do the commandment and the law, which Moses the servant of the LORD charged you, to love the LORD your God, and to walk in all his ways, and to keep his commandments, and to cleave unto him, and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.” ~ Joshua 22:5 (KJV)

“Let your heart therefore be perfect with the LORD our God, to walk in his statutes, and to keep his commandments, as at this day.” ~ 1 Kings 8:61 (KJV)

“And all the earth sought to Solomon, to hear his wisdom, which God had put in his heart.” ~ 1 Kings 10:24 (KJV)

“The law of his God [is] in his heart; none of his steps shall slide.” ~ Psalm 37:31 (KJV)

“I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law [is] within my heart.” ~ Psalm 40:8 (KJV)

“Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.” ~ Psalm 51:10 (KJV)

“The sacrifices of God [are] a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.” ~ Psalm 51:17 (KJV)

“My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the LORD: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.” ~ Psalm 84:2 (KJV)

“Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:” ~ Psalm 139:23 (KJV)

“Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.” ~ Jeremiah 15:16 (KJV)

” ‘But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days,’ declares the LORD, ‘I will put My law within them, and on their heart I will write it; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.’ ” ~ Jeremiah 31:33

When we seek after God, when we truly desire to love Him with all our hearts, minds, and strength, when we love our neighbor as ourself, when we surrender our lives to God’s will, when we hide His word in our hearts and desire to follow His commands and serve Him, our hearts are like His. Can we do this all on our own strength? Nope. But the last verse, Jeremiah 31:33, tells us that God will do this for us! He puts His law within us, He writes His will on our hearts, He puts His Holy Spirit within us so that we will have a heart after His. Hallelujah!

“Thus says the LORD, ‘Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises lovingkindness, justice, and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,’ declares the LORD.” ~ Jeremiah 9:23-24

Amen! I can boast that I know the LORD, by His grace, through faith in Jesus! And then, I pray that He gives me a heart like Paul had as he wrote the following:

“Brethren, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved.” ~ Romans 10:1 (KJV)

This entry was posted in 1 Kings, Commandments, Deuteronomy, Faith, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Holy Spirit, Israel, Jeremiah, Jesus, Joshua, Judah, Love, Love one another, Luke, May 2013, Men, Mind, Obedience, Others, Paul, Prayer, Psalms, Romans, Salvation, Solomon, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

