To This One I Will Look

“Thus says the LORD, ‘Heaven is My throne, and the earth is My footstool. Where then is a house you could build for Me? And where is a place that I may rest? For My hand made all these things, thus all these things came into being,’ declares the LORD. ‘But to this one I will look, to him who is humble and contrite of spirit, and who trembles at My word.’ ” ~ Isaiah 66:1-2

God is the Creator of everything that is. He made it ALL! Heaven is His throne, and the earth is His footstool. There is nothing that I could say or build or achieve that would impress God. I have nothing to bring Him, no gift “good enough”…

Unless I say that I am a sinner, lost without Him, and accept His free gift of grace through faith in Jesus. Unless I build a relationship with Him. Unless I achieve (only through His strength!) an attitude of surrender to Him and His plan for my life. Then God will accept my “offering” (my life, surrendered to His will, not mine) and use me, working in me and through me.

Does God love us no matter what? Of course!

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” ~ Romans 5:8

There is nothing we can ever do to “be good enough” for salvation. We can never earn God’s grace. It is a free gift to be accepted by any and all!

“For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, that no one should boast.” ~ Ephesians 2:8-9

However, we were created for God, to have a relationship with Him AND THEN to seek after His kingdom and to do His good works.

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” ~ Ephesians 2:10

So then, once I have received God’s free gift of grace through faith, if I want to give Him a gift in return, the only thing I have to offer is my humbled, repentant, contrite, surrendered self. And then He will fill me afresh with His Holy Spirit and give me a job to do, for His kingdom. Which is what my heart desires, to serve God and to do His good works!

The best gift we can give to God is the gift of ourselves. And the best gift we can ever receive is the gift of God’s grace ~ unearned, undeserved forgiveness, mercy, kindness, and love! 🙂

This entry was posted in Creation, Ephesians, Faith, Forgiveness, Giving, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Holy Spirit, Isaiah, Jesus, Life, Love, May 2013, Men, Mercy, Obedience, Offerings, Repentance, Salvation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To This One I Will Look

  1. Eph. 2:7 speaks of the “immeasurable riches of his grace” and adds “in kindness” toward us. So grace does include God’s gift of kindness (and forgiveness, and mercy). Yet the riches include even more: in 2:5 God, “even when we were dead through our sins, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved).” This gracious act of power was introduced in 2:1-2 — “And you he made alive, when you were dead through the trespasses and sins in which you once walked.” The riches of this empowering, life-giving grace includes no longer living according to the desires of the flesh as before (2:3). Thus God’s grace in us includes the work of God in and through us (as in your quote of 2:10 above). You mention the Spirit above also; in 4:7f. the grace given to each of us includes the gifts of the Spirit (sometimes described by Paul as charismata, literally, gifts of grace). All of this is the richness of God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

