We Shout Your Name

Lord of all the earth
We shout Your Name, shout Your Name
Filling up the skies
With endless praise, endless praise
Yahweh, Yahweh
We love to shout Your Name, Oh Lord

I woke up this morning, poured myself a cup of coffee, and discovered this song on my lips. How wonderful to be singing God’s praise, even before my coffee kicks in! 🙂

Lately life has been pressing us like a vice. And the more I talk with other Christians, the more I find that everyone around me is being vigorously attacked by Satan in some way or another. One thing I have found through this time of testing is that it drives me to the foot of the cross, where I lay down my sorrows and pain, and into the arms of Jesus, where I simply cling to Him and wait. I wait for His peace to fill me. I wait for His strength to replace my weakness. I wait for Him to show me the Way. I wait for Him to “make it all better”. And until He does, I simply cling. And wait.

When I am clinging to Jesus, extra sweetness is found in my times of worship. Solace, wisdom, and peace are waiting for me in the pages of my Bible. I cherish the promises God has made, and I hope in Him. And if this is what it takes to turn my heart and my soul completely, wholly to God, then so let it be!

Life might be bitter and hard at times, but the little rays of goodness that slip through are magnified and celebrated with a thankful heart!

“And it shall be said in that day, Lo, this [is] our God; we have waited for him, and he will save us: this [is] the LORD; we have waited for him, we will be glad and rejoice in his salvation.” ~ Isaiah 25:9 (KJV)

“O taste and see that the LORD [is] good: blessed [is] the man [that] trusteth in him.” ~ Psalm 34:8 (KJV)

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” ~ James 1:17 (KJV)

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.” ~ Psalm 23:6 (KJV)

God allows hard times in order to refine and purify us. He gently removes the things that impede our growth and obedience, the things that hold us back from wholeheartedly serving Him. And then He fills us afresh with His Holy Spirit and His blessings, giving us His strength and power to “keep on keeping on” for His kingdom.

“This also comes from the LORD of hosts, who has made His counsel wonderful and His wisdom great.” ~ Isaiah 28:29

At Your Name, the mountains shake and crumble
At Your Name, the oceans roar and tumble
At Your Name, angels will bow, the earth will rejoice
Your people cry out

Lord of all the earth
We shout Your Name, shout Your Name
Filling up the skies
With endless praise, endless praise
Yahweh, Yahweh
We love to shout Your Name, Oh Lord

At Your Name, the morning breaks in glory
At Your Name, creation sings Your story
At Your Name, angels will bow, the earth will rejoice
Your people cry out

(from the song At Your Name by Phil Wickham)

This entry was posted in Angels, April 2013, Blessings, Creation, Faith, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Holy Spirit, Hope, Isaiah, James, Jesus, Joy, Mercy, Obedience, Others, Peace, Praises, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Satan, The Way, Waiting on the Lord, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Shout Your Name

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It’s such a good word, and so many need to hear it. Thank you for encouraging others, even as you go through your own hard times.

Leave a Reply

