H O P E !

It is a breathtaking blue sky sunny day here, yet there is just a slight hitch in my heart. I decided to look up some verses on HOPE ~ who doesn’t need some hope?

“Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why have you become disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him for the help of His presence.” ~ Psalm 42:5

“Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who hope in the LORD.” ~ Psalm 31:24

“Behold, the eye of the LORD is on those who fear Him, on those who hope for His lovingkindness, to deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine.” ~ Psalm 33:18-19

“For Thou art my hope; O Lord GOD, Thou art my confidence from my youth… But as for me, I will hope continually, and will praise Thee yet more and more.” ~ Psalm 71:5, 14

“Thou art my hiding place and my shield; I wait for Thy word… Sustain me according to Thy word, that I may live; and do not let me be ashamed of my hope.” ~ Psalm 119:114, 116

“I wait for the LORD, my soul does wait, and in His word do I hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning; indeed, more than the watchmen for the morning. O Israel, hope in the LORD; for with the LORD there is lovingkindness, and with Him is abundant redemption.” ~ Psalm 130:5-7

“How blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD his God: who made heaven and earth, the sea and all that is in them; who keeps faith forever; who executes justice for the oppressed; who gives food to the hungry. The LORD sets the prisoners free.” ~ Psalm 146:5-7

“This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. The LORD’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Thy faithfulness. ‘The LORD is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘Therefore I have hope in Him.’ The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him. It is good that he waits silently for the salvation of the LORD.” ~ Lamentations 3:21-26

“And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” ~ Romans 5:3-8

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” ~ Romans 15:13

“Now may our Lord Jesus Christ Himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us eternal comfort and good hope by grace, comfort and strengthen your hearts in every good work and word.” ~ 2 Thessalonians 2:16-17

“In hope of eternal life, which God, that cannot lie, promised before the world began;” ~ Titus 1:2 (KJV)

“He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out upon us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, that being justified by His grace we might be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.” ~ Titus 3:5-7

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who according to His great mercy has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to obtain an inheritance which is imperishable and undefiled and will not fade away, reserved in heaven for you, who are protected by the power of God through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.” ~ 1 Peter 1:3-5

“But even if you should suffer for the sake of righteousness, you are blessed. AND DO NOT FEAR THEIR INTIMIDATION, AND DO NOT BE TROUBLED, but sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the hope that is in you, yet with gentleness and reverence;” ~ 1 Peter 3:14-15

Okay, my heart feels encouraged now. My hope is in God, the Maker of heaven and earth. My hope is in the death and resurrection of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. My hope is in the promise of salvation and eternal life through Jesus. My hope is in the Holy Spirit and His power, which helps me through the daily trials and struggles, and teaches me God’s word. 🙂

Where is your hope?

This entry was posted in 1 Peter, 2 Thessalonians, Blessings, Easter, Faith, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, Jesus, Joy, Lamentations, Love, March 2013, Mercy, Mind, Peace, Praises, Psalms, Redeemer, Romans, Salvation, Titus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

