Jesus Paid It All

Teleō. A Greek word meaning “to accomplish, to fulfill, to finish, to pay”. All four Gospels tell us that Jesus cried out before He died, but only John records these final words. ” ‘It is finished!’ And He bowed His head, and gave up His spirit.” ~ John 19:30b. It is paid in full. Why did Jesus say this?

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” ~ Romans 3:23

Each and every one of us owes a tremendous debt, which we cannot ever pay on our own. Our debts of sin were paid when Jesus gave Himself to die on the cross for us.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” ~ Romans 6:23

Jesus paid it all for us, in full. There is nothing we can add to this payment; there is nothing we can subtract from this payment. We need only to accept the truth that this payment was indeed made on our behalf, believe that our account is paid in full, and receive God’s grace ~ unearned, undeserved love, mercy, and forgiveness.

Did you know that Jesus gave His life on that cross? No one took it from Him. It was His to give, and He chose to freely give it, so that we might have freedom from sin’s death penalty and the promise of eternal life through Jesus.

” ‘I am the good shepherd; and I know My own, and My own know Me, even as the Father knows Me and I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep…For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. No man has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.’ ” ~ John 10:14-15, 17-18

I lay down My life that I may take it again… I have authority to take it up again. These words from Jesus make this a very Good Friday indeed! Not only did Jesus pay the price for our sin, in full, but He has authority over death, and He took His life up again!

” ‘Do not be afraid; for I know that you are looking for Jesus who has been crucified. He is not here, for He has risen, just as He said.’ ” ~ Matthew 28:5b-6a

Just as He said. The words of Jesus. The words of God. They are trustworthy and true. Always. You can count on it. He has risen, just as He said. Hallelujah! 🙂

I can hear the Savior say
Thy strength indeed is small
Child of weakness, watch and pray
Find in Me thine all in all

Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe
Sin had left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

And when, before Thy throne
I stand in Him complete
Jesus died my soul to save
My lips shall still repeat

Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe;
Sin had left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

~ from the old hymn Jesus Paid It All by Elvina Mable Reynolds Hall and John Thomas Grape

This entry was posted in Easter, Faith, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Grace, Heaven, Hope, Jesus, John, Love, March 2013, Matthew, Men, Mercy, Romans, Salvation, Shepherd. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

