Cleansing Storms And Refreshing Words

Spring entered our little neck of the woods rather tumultuously yesterday. We had high winds, lightning, flooding rainfall, and graupel. Whew! There were also a few glimpses of blue sky and a ray of sunshine or two. I love a good spring storm (as long as there is no danger or damage!). It washes away the dirt and grime, and it seems to refresh my spirit, as well.

The dark, dirty corners of my heart need a good washing now and then. The muck and mire of this world work their way down into my being and cloud my view of things. I need God to help me refocus on Him and His ways. Sometimes God uses the “storms” and trials of life to accomplish this in me. And sometimes that cleansing and restoration is found in the pages of the Bible.

“Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin… Purify me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow… Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me… Restore to me the joy of Thy salvation, and sustain me with a willing spirit.” ~ Psalm 51:2, 7, 10, 12

I am finishing up Proverbs, the book of wisdom. Here are more splashes of truth and light I have come across recently:

“A man who hardens his neck after much reproof will suddenly be broken beyond remedy.” ~ Proverbs 29:1 Dear God, teach me how to take proper correction, when needed and delivered with love, into my heart and mind. Help me to not be stubborn!

“The righteous is concerned for the rights of the poor, the wicked does not understand such concerns.” ~ Proverbs 29:7 Place my focus on others and their needs, and not on myself.

“When a wise man has a controversy with a foolish man, the foolish man either rages or laughs, and there is no rest.” ~ Proverbs 29:9 Help me to let things go. I need to quit wasting time arguing with and worrying about fools! I give them to You!

“A fool always loses his temper, but a wise man holds it back.” ~ Proverbs 29:11Give me Your strength, God, to not REact but instead hold back and choose how to wisely ACT.

“Do you see a man who is hasty in his words? There is more hope for a fool than for him.” ~ Proverbs 29:20 “Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath:” ~ James 1:19 (KJV)

“A man’s pride will bring him low, but a humble spirit will obtain honor… If you have been foolish in exalting yourself or if you have plotted evil, put your hand on your mouth.” ~ Proverbs 29:23, 30:32 I love this! May I clap a hand over my mouth, LORD, to stop myself from being prideful and foolish! Help me to have a humble spirit.

And here is a very solemn warning to all of us that we must take to heart:

“Every word of God is tested; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him. Do not add to His words lest He reprove you, and you be proved a liar.” ~ Proverbs 30:5-6 DO NOT PUT WORDS IN GOD’S MOUTH THAT ARE NOT HIS!! We are warned in Revelation 22:18-19 to not ADD TO or TAKE AWAY from the words of God. Be very careful!

May this fresh new season of storms and sunshine be filled with the goodness and fulness of walking daily with God! 🙂

This entry was posted in God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Joy, Love one another, March 2013, Men, Mind, Obedience, Others, Pride, Proverbs, Psalms, Repentance, Revelation, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

