By Sorrow of the Heart the Spirit is Broken

Our family has been going through some difficult times, and as I have shared bits of my pain and struggles, others have blessed me by deeming me safe enough to hear of their trials. I am humbled and overwhelmed by the great and terrible things my dear friends are experiencing. Yet I am so thankful we can join together and lift one another up in prayer to our heavenly Father, who already knows our sorrows and sufferings, who loves us more than we can fully comprehend, who carries our burdens when we ask, and who walks through “the valley of the shadow of death” with us.

Are you going through something unbelievably painful and tough? You are not alone! Share it with someone who will lift you up in prayer. And be encouraged by these verses, for all of us traveling through that valley ~

“The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the afflicted; He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to captives, and freedom to prisoners;” ~ Isaiah 61:1 This is a prophecy about the first coming of Jesus. God sent Jesus to us, to bring us good news, bind up our broken hearts, and give us freedom, through salvation in Him!

“I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears. Mine eye is consumed because of grief; it waxeth old because of all mine enemies. Depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity; for the LORD hath heard the voice of my weeping. The LORD hath heard my supplication; the LORD will receive my prayer.” ~ Psalm 6:6-9 (KJV) Hold on to the LORD through your grief and tears. And PRAY. God hears. God knows. God will give you help.

“[[To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David.]] How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, [having] sorrow in my heart daily? how long shall mine enemy be exalted over me? Consider [and] hear me, O LORD my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the [sleep of] death; Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; [and] those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved. But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation. I will sing unto the LORD, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.” ~ Psalm 13 (KJV) Remember God’s promises. Remember how He has helped you in the past. He is trustworthy! Praise Him in this storm.

“A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.” ~ Proverbs 15:13 (KJV) It is okay to be broken. Jesus will heal it. In His time. And your heart will be merry once again.

“Sorrow [is] better than laughter: for by the sadness of the countenance the heart is made better. The heart of the wise [is] in the house of mourning; but the heart of fools [is] in the house of mirth. [It is] better to hear the rebuke of the wise, than for a man to hear the song of fools.” ~ Ecclesiastes 7:3-5 (KJV) I can personally testify that through mourning and sorrow come the riches of a deeper love and relationship with God. You can’t get much closer to someone than when you are clinging to them for dear life! I am learning and gaining wisdom through this sadness, and it is making my heart better.

“And ye now therefore have sorrow: but I will see you again, and your heart shall rejoice, and your joy no man taketh from you…These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” ~ John 16:22, 33 (KJV) Take these words that Jesus spoke into your heart and be of good cheer. Have peace. Take joy. Hope in the promises!

“For godly sorrow worketh repentance to salvation not to be repented of: but the sorrow of the world worketh death.” ~ 2 Corinthians 7:10 (KJV) Sometimes sorrow brings those we love to see their greatest need of all- salvation.

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.” ~ Revelation 21:4 (KJV) There will be a day… Hallelujah!

“One [thing] have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple. For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock. And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD. Hear, O LORD, [when] I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me. [When thou saidst], Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek. Hide not thy face [far] from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation.” ~ Psalm 27:4-9 (KJV) Hide God’s Word in your heart. Seek after Him, all the days of your life. He is our help, and He will never leave or forsake those who belong to Him!

Take courage, dear brothers and sisters, and encourage others around you today!

This entry was posted in Blessings, Ecclesiastes, Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Hope, Isaiah, Jesus, John, Joy, Love, March 2013, Men, Mercy, Mind, Others, Peace, Praises, Prayer, Proverbs, Psalms, Revelation, Salvation, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By Sorrow of the Heart the Spirit is Broken

  1. carolynrice says:

    This is beautiful and authentic.

Leave a Reply

