Saturday Morning Popcorn

This is going to be a “popcorn” post. I have so many thoughts (too much coffee?) and emotions bouncing around in my mind and heart, and because of that, I also have assorted verses and promises from God’s Word ping ponging around, as well. Hallelujah!

First of all, I have figured out that the more you know and study the Bible, the stronger your anchor will hold in a storm. I have clung to God’s promises these past few weeks, knowing my very soul depended upon it. “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you” (Hebrews 13:5), “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13), God “will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able” (1 Corinthians 10:13), “all things work together for good to them that love God” (Romans 8:28), “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope” (Jeremiah 29:11). I am not very good at remembering the references, but the words of these verses, and so many others, bubbled up from my heart, reminding me of God’s faithfulness and goodness.

History. It is helpful to have walked with God for awhile. Then you can look back on your life and see how He has come through, time and time again. God is always trustworthy. He is never late. He is never early. His timing is always impeccable. Perfect.

I don’t have to trust in my own strength. I can’t do it. This latest storm has been a doozy, and I have been sounding like little Susan from Miracle on 34th Street: “I believe, I believe…” And I have been comforted and encouraged by the knowledge that the Bible records a moment when someone else needed help believing:

“… ‘But if You can do anything, take pity on us and help us!’ And Jesus said to him, ‘ “If you can!” All things are possible to him who believes.’ Immediately the boy’s father cried out and began saying, ‘I do believe; help my unbelief.’ ” ~ Mark 9:22b-24

That is so me. “If You can do anything, take pity on us and help us!” God is so kind and patient, reminding me that all things are possible, with faith in Him. “I do believe; help my unbelief.” Amen.

As the clouds are beginning to blow away, I can catch glimpses of the shore on the other side of this tumultuous sea. And I take absolute joy in singing praises while yet in the midst of this storm!

“My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.” ~ Psalm 57:7 (KJV)

“But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more.” ~ Psalm 71:14 (KJV)

“While I live will I praise the LORD: I will sing praises unto my God while I have any being.” ~ Psalm 146:2 (KJV)

Finally, I have experienced rich and bountiful blessings from friends ~ brothers and sisters in Christ who have come alongside of us to hold us up to our heavenly Father in prayer and to offer us words of comfort and encouragement. I cannot begin to express my thankfulness for this. I am humbled and touched. And so grateful. We cannot weather the intense storms of life without prayer. And friends.

“Confess [your] faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” ~ James 5:16 (KJV)

“A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born for adversity.” ~ Proverbs 17:17 (KJV)

“A man [that hath] friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend [that] sticketh closer than a brother.” ~ Proverbs 18:24 (KJV)

“Ointment and perfume rejoice the heart: so [doth] the sweetness of a man’s friend by hearty counsel.” ~ Proverbs 27:9 (KJV)

“Iron sharpeneth iron; so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.” ~ Proverbs 27:17 (KJV)

Thank you friends, and thank you Jesus, for praying for us. 🙂

“Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of [our] faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.” ~ Hebrews 12:2 (KJV)

“Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.” ~ Hebrews 7:25 (KJV)

This entry was posted in Blessings, Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Hebrews, History, Hope, Jeremiah, Jesus, Joy, Love, March 2013, Mark, Mind, Others, Philippians, Praises, Prayer, Proverbs, Psalms, Thanksgiving, The Past, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday Morning Popcorn

  1. I kept wanting to hit “Like” over and over! Yes, there are times when the history of your life, all God has done in your life up to this point, is a strong anchor. You know his goodness and faithfulness!

    Don’t forget all the fresh smells and new growth that come after the storm. Continuing to pray with you through to a good end; thankful that God truly is bigger than any problem we face.

Leave a Reply

