Trusting the Light of Life

I am buckled in for the roller coaster ride. I have set my mind on the course ahead. Deep breath. Nervously, I trust the operator. Here we go. It is finally moving! And what a ride! The ups are high and breathtaking, and the downs are low and overwhelming. But what on earth is happening now? We have rolled to an abrupt stop in an enclosed, dark area. I cannot see what is going on. Is there something wrong? Where is the light? Oh, how hard it is to trust that all is as it should be, that we are still on course! Yet it would be disastrous to unbuckle and attempt to get off the ride now. We must simply wait. And trust.

This is how our lives have seemed recently. Our family stepped out in faith, onto the course God called us to wildly follow. And now we have just coasted to a stop in the dark. Oh, that we could catch a glimpse of the course ahead, that a glimmer of hope might cut through the uncertainty! Yet we are instead waiting, in the safety found when trusting the great I AM and sticking to His path.

“My son, if you will receive my sayings, and treasure my commandments within you, make your ear attentive to wisdom, incline your heart to understanding; for if you cry for discernment, lift your voice for understanding; if you seek her as silver, and search for her as for hidden treasures; then you will discern the fear of the LORD, and discover the knowledge of God. For the LORD gives wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He stores up sound wisdom for the upright; He is a shield to those who walk in integrity, guarding the paths of justice, and He preserves the way of His godly ones. Then you will discern righteousness and justice and equity and every good course. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul;” ~ Proverbs 2:1-10

If. Then. If you choose this, then you will have that.

I know this one thing, dear friends, that the course God leads us on is always the best path for us, no matter how difficult. So I will wait, trusting He is my shield who is guarding my paths and preserving my way. But I will also choose to receive God’s words and treasure His commandments, earnestly make my ear attentive to wisdom and incline my heart to understanding, loudly cry for discernment and understanding, and seek and search for the treasures of God’s wisdom, knowledge, and understanding. And I pray that I may then “discern righteousness and justice and equity and every good course” and have wisdom enter my heart and knowledge please my soul.

While waiting, I will remind myself of these truths:

“For Thou dost light my lamp; the LORD my God illumines my darkness.” ~ Psalm 18:28

“Light arises in the darkness for the upright; He is gracious and compassionate and righteous.” ~ Psalm 112:4

“Thy word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.” ~ Psalm 119:105

“And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.” ~ John 1:5

“Again therefore Jesus spoke to them, saying, ‘I am the light of the world; he who follows Me shall not walk in the darkness, but shall have the light of life.'” ~ John 8:12

I am so thankful to be following Jesus, the light of the world and the light of life! I need not fear waiting in darkness, for God sees the path and He is my light. 🙂

This entry was posted in Commandments, Faith, Family, Fear, February 2013, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Heart, Hope, Jesus, John, Light, Men, Mind, Obedience, Proverbs, Psalms, The Way, Waiting on the Lord, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trusting the Light of Life

  1. Pingback: THE LIGHT TO OUR PATH | Inspirational Christian Blogs

Leave a Reply

