Do Not Be Afraid, Little Flock

King David, who was called by God Himself a man after God’s own heart (1 Samuel 13:14), wrote so many of the Psalms. When I read his prayers and supplications to God, I catch a glimpse of his heart, and I desire my heart to also be like God’s!

“Hear my prayer, O LORD, give ear to my supplications! Answer me in Thy faithfulness, in Thy righteousness!” ~ Psalm 143:1

David was not afraid to demand and implore God: (You) “Hear my prayer”, (You) “Give ear to my supplications!” (You) “Answer me” in Thy faithfulness, in Thy righteousness!

Why was it okay that he spoke this way to God? I think perhaps because God knew David’s heart, knew that he did indeed seek after the things God wanted, after God’s will, after His own heart. And David knew God. He knew His promises, His faithfulness, and His very nature. David knew God promised to hear him when he prayed, promised to answer when he needed help, promised to be faithful in His lovingkindness.

Jesus taught us how our hearts should be ~

“‘And do not seek what you shall eat, and what you shall drink, and do not keep worrying. For all these things the nations of the world eagerly seek; but your Father knows that you need these things. But seek for His kingdom, and these things shall be added to you. Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has chosen gladly to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions and give to charity; make yourselves purses which do not wear out, an unfailing treasure in heaven, where no thief comes near, nor moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.'” ~ Luke 12:29-34

Time to check my heart. Do I worry about the daily needs of this life? Yes. Should I worry? “Your Father knows that you need these things”. Nope, God knows what I truly need, and He will provide, when my heart seeks “for His kingdom”.

I absolutely LOVE how Jesus tells us “do not be afraid, little flock”. Mikros poimnion. Little flock. My little ones, My young disciples. Do not be afraid. What tender words from a loving Saviour! And wow, does He know us or what? He knew we would be afraid, we would worry and fret and fear. But when we set our hearts on God’s kingdom, on eternal things, the daily needs are met by our heavenly Father.

“For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” Lord Jesus, let me seek after Your kingdom, after eternal treasure, and let my heart be after Yours!

David remembered that he was but a man who needed the righteousness and direction of the One True God. We cannot set our hearts after God’s heart without His help ~ we are but little sheep.

“Let me hear Thy lovingkindness in the morning; for I trust in Thee; teach me the way in which I should walk; for to Thee I lift up my soul…Teach me to do Thy will, for Thou art my God; let Thy good Spirit lead me on level ground.” ~ Psalm 143:8, 10

God, I lift up my soul to You. I trust in You. Show me the way. Teach me to do Your will. And let Your Holy Spirit lead me on level ground. Amen!

This entry was posted in 1 Samuel, David, Faith, Fear, February 2013, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, Heart, Heaven, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Luke, Obedience, Prayer, Psalms, The Nature of God, The Truth, The Way. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do Not Be Afraid, Little Flock

  1. One of my very favorite Psalms. God showed me something in it many years ago that I was able to hold onto and follow through some really hard times. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. Pingback: Night Prayers – Believer's Brain

  3. Those who have faith in God don’t fear anything. Thanks for your post.

    • We certainly have no need to be afraid, but sometimes fear and doubts creep in…and then we must remember God’s promises and faithfulness and settle back into trusting Him. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Are you afraid? - Plaigia

Leave a Reply

