Our Omni God

I take a notebook to church. I also jot notes in the margins of my Bible, when I recognize there is something I would really like to remember next time I read through that particular passage of Scripture. I am so thankful I did this in Psalm 139, or I might not have remembered that this beautiful chapter of the Bible tells me of God’s omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence.

Omni. This Latin prefix means “all”. Scientia. Latin root meaning “knowledge”. God knows all things. He has infinite knowledge and wisdom.

“O LORD, Thou hast searched me and known me. Thou dost know when I sit down and when I rise up; Thou dost understand my thought from afar. Thou dost scrutinize my path and my lying down, and art intimately acquainted with all my ways. Even before there is a word on my tongue, behold, O LORD, Thou dost know it all.” ~ Psalm 139:1-4

Wow. God knows us intimately. All about us. The good, the bad, and the ugly. He knows our words while they are still thoughts and feelings, before they come pouring out of our mouths. And yet, we are told over and over again throughout His word that He loves us!

“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” ~ Romans 5:8.

God loves us, even though He knows how sinful and imperfect we are. And He sent His Son Jesus to die for us so that through Jesus we could be clean and justified, standing before God the Father clothed in the righteousness of Jesus. But even before we accept the salvation and forgiveness Jesus offers, while we are yet sinners, Christ died for us. God knows us and loves us. Ugliness and all.

Omni. “All”. Presence. “Act, fact, or state of being present”. God is all places, present everywhere at once.

“Where can I go from Thy Spirit? Or where can I flee from Thy presence? If I ascend to heaven, Thou art there; if I make my bed in Sheol, behold, Thou art there. If I take the wings of the dawn, if I dwell in the remotest part of the sea, even there Thy hand will lead me, and Thy right hand will lay hold of me. If I say, ‘Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, and the light around me will be night,’ even the darkness is not dark to Thee, and the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to Thee.” ~ Psalm 139:7-12

No matter where we are, no matter what we are going through, no matter what we are doing, God is there. He knows. He sees. He cares. He loves. Even if we are hiding or running. He loves us anyway. And He is with us, even in the darkest of places.

Omni. “All”. Potence. “Quality or state of being potent: having or wielding authority, control, or dominion”. God has all authority, control, and dominion over all things. He is unlimited in power, ability, and authority.

“For Thou didst form my inward parts; Thou didst weave me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to Thee, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; wonderful are Thy works, and my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from Thee, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth. Thine eyes have seen my unformed substance; and in Thy book they were all written, the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them.” ~ Psalm 139:13-16

We were “fearfully and wonderfully made”! We aren’t some accidents of evolution. We are designed by God, the omnipotent Creator. His eyes were on us, and He formed us. He knew us while we were still within our mothers’ wombs. And He already had a plan for us ~ days written in His book ~ a life ready to be lived. God has all authority, control, and dominion over every single part of creation. And He loves us! Every single little bit of us. Even when we were just beginning to grow in our mothers’ wombs, God designed us, loved us, knew us, and had a plan for us!

Isn’t our God awesome? All-knowing, all-present, all-powerful ~ and all-loving.

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” ~ John 3:16 (KJV)

This entry was posted in Creation, February 2013, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Holy Spirit, Jesus, John, Love, Men, Mind, Nature, Psalms, Romans, Salvation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

