A Bird Set Free

“Blessed be the LORD, who has not given us to be torn by their teeth. Our soul has escaped as a bird out of the snare of the trapper; the snare is broken and we have escaped. Our help is in the name of the LORD, who made heaven and earth.” ~ Psalm 124:6-8

I love the imagery here! God has not allowed Satan to rip us apart and destroy us. We have been spared and redeemed, bought with a price. Our souls have been set free like a bird from a snare. The grip of sin and death was broken by Jesus’ death on the cross. When He paid the price for our sins, it was paid in full. We have only to acknowledge this and accept His freely given gift, and then our souls escape from death and are free. We have the hope of living lives forgiven and restored before God, and the promise of forever with the One “who made heaven and earth”.

And like a bird, we can freely fly to our heavenly Father in times of trouble and take refuge in the shadow of His wings.

“Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings,” ~ Psalm 17:8 (KJV)

“Because thou hast been my help, therefore in the shadow of thy wings will I rejoice.” ~ Psalm 63:7 (KJV)

“He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth [shall be thy] shield and buckler.” ~ Psalm 91:4 (KJV)

I am but a lost and wandering bird, God. Guide me back home. Bring me to Your nest and hide me under the shadow of Your wings, where I know I will be safe. Forever.

This entry was posted in Creation, February 2013, Forgiveness, God, God's Name, God's Promises, Hope, Jesus, Nature, Psalms, Redeemer, Repentance, Salvation, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bird Set Free

  1. carolynrice says:

    I really love your posts and your blog. Keep Writing!

Leave a Reply

