A Wandering Bird

“Like a bird that wanders from her nest, so is a man who wanders from his home. Oil and perfume make the heart glad, so a man’s counsel is sweet to his friend.” ~ Proverbs 27:8-9

I have been like a wounded and lost bird these last few days, battered by the world, trying to find my bearings and return to my nest. Thanks be to God for the prayers and counsel of wise, dear friends! And thanks be to God for His word, which is a comfort and a refuge in time of need!

I am reading through Psalm 119, and David shared the desires of his heart beautifully in this longest chapter of the Bible. Again, remember to look for “I have”, “I will”, and “I shall”, where David made a conscious choice.

“Then I shall not be ashamed when I look upon all Thy commandments. I shall give thanks to Thee with uprightness of heart, when I learn Thy righteous judgments. I shall keep Thy statutes; do not forsake me utterly! How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Thy word. With all my heart I have sought Thee; do not let me wander from Thy commandments. Thy word I have treasured in my heart, that I may not sin against Thee…I have rejoiced in the way of Thy testimonies, as much as in all riches. I will meditate on Thy precepts, and regard Thy ways. I shall delight in Thy statutes; I shall not forget Thy word. Deal bountifully with Thy servant, that I may live and keep Thy word. Open my eyes, that I may behold wonderful things from Thy law…Thy testimonies also are my delight; they are my counselors…Make me understand the way of Thy precepts, so I will meditate on Thy wonders. My soul weeps because of grief; strengthen me according to Thy word…Teach me, O LORD, the way of Thy statutes, and I shall observe it to the end. Give me understanding, that I may observe Thy law, and keep it with all my heart. Make me walk in the path of Thy commandments, for I delight in it. Incline my heart to Thy testimonies, and not to dishonest gain. Turn away my eyes from looking at vanity, and revive me in Thy ways…So I will keep Thy law continually, forever and ever. And I will walk at liberty, for I seek Thy precepts…Remember the word to Thy servant, in which Thou hast made me hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, that Thy word has revived me.” ~ Psalm 119:6-11, 14-18, 24, 27-28, 33-37, 44-45, 49-50

There is so much “meat” in this Psalm! What wisdom and earnestness David had, seeking after God’s commandments, judgments, statutes, word, testimonies, precepts, ways, law, and wonders! What a faithful, loving God we serve, who draws us near, renews our hope, guides us in the way we should go, and revives us with His word!

After a good night’s sleep and the prayers and words of encouragement from wise friends, this little lost bird has found her way back into her nest, under the protective and sheltering wing of the Father. My heart longs after God’s commandments, judgments, statutes, word, testimonies, precepts, ways, law, and wonders ~ I am so thankful to be able to dwell in the house of the LORD forever! (Psalm 23:6) Thanks be to God for His grace ~ unearned, undeserved love, mercy, and forgiveness. 🙂

This entry was posted in Commandments, Contentment, David, Faith, Forgiveness, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, God's Word, Grace, Heart, Hope, January 2013, Joy, Love, Men, Mercy, Mind, Obedience, Praises, Prayer, Proverbs, Psalms, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Wandering Bird

  1. Such good stuff! Thank you for sharing the hard things. It encourages and helps me to find my way, too!

  2. Deal bountifully with Thy servant, that I may live and keep Thy word. Open my eyes, that I may behold wonderful things from Thy law — Perhaps the dark times and confusion, even seasons of apathy all are ways that God deals bountifully with us. We know the good, clear warmth of the light of Christ and appreciate it more fully when we have spent some time in the cold, gray haze.

Leave a Reply

