(You) Praise the LORD!

“Praise the LORD! I will give thanks to the LORD with all my heart, in the company of the upright and in the assembly. Great are the works of the LORD; they are studied by all who delight in them…He has made His wonders to be remembered; the LORD is gracious and compassionate.” ~ Psalm 111:1-2, 4

I pulled myself together, washed my eyes, carefully applied makeup, and hoped the puffiness that all the crying had wrought wouldn’t be too noticeable. It was Friday night, church night, and no matter what, it was a blessing to be able to go praise the LORD and study His great and wondrous works. Thanks, God, for Your grace and mercy.

“Praise the LORD! How blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who greatly delights in His commandments. His descendants will be mighty on earth; the generation of the upright will be blessed.” ~ Psalm 112:1-2

I clung to the cross during worship ~ Sweetly broken, wholly surrendered ~ filled with the joy of knowing the Creator God, yet not feeling “O how happy”. Lord Jesus, please bless our child… keep her safe… woo her back to You.

“Praise the LORD! Praise, O servants of the LORD. Praise the name of the LORD. Blessed be the name of the LORD from this time forth and forever. From the rising of the sun to its setting the name of the LORD is to be praised.” ~ Psalm 113:1-3

I am exhorted by the psalmists to praise the LORD! In Colossians, I am exhorted by Paul to pray continually and be watchful. Even when my world is crumbling, even when my heart is broken, even when… Oh, let me bless Your name, God. Let me proclaim Your praise and Your name, who You are, to all the world around me, even those whose world is crumbling, even those whose heart is broken, even those… And let me pray without ceasing.

“But as for us, we will bless the LORD from this time forth and forever. Praise the LORD!” ~ Psalm 115:18

(You) Praise the LORD! Over and over I have read those words in Your Psalms, God. It is a command. So I will choose to praise You, no matter what.

“Blessed be Your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s ‘all as it should be’
Blessed be Your name

Blessed be Your name
On the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name”

~ from the song Blessed Be Your Name by Matt Redman

This entry was posted in Blessings, Children, Colossians, Commandments, Faith, Family, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, Grace, Heart, Hope, January 2013, Jesus, Joy, Love, Mercy, Obedience, Praises, Prayer, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to (You) Praise the LORD!

  1. LOVE this song! It’s a different life altogether when we truly live this way. So much victory when we can praise in the midst of suffering!

Leave a Reply

