The Days of Our Life

This morning I read the oldest of all the Psalms, the lovely Psalm 90, “A Prayer of Moses the man of God”.

“LORD, Thou hast been our dwelling place in all generations. Before the mountains were born, or Thou didst give birth to the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting, Thou art God. Thou dost turn man back into dust, and dost say, ‘Return, O children of men.’ For a thousand years in Thy sight are like yesterday when it passes by, or as a watch in the night…
As for the days of our life, they contain seventy years, or if due to strength, eighty years, yet their pride is but labor and sorrow; for soon it is gone and we fly away…
So teach us to number our days, that we may present to Thee a heart of wisdom…
O satisfy us in the morning with Thy lovingkindness, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days…
And let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us; and do confirm for us the work of our hands; yes, confirm the work of our hands.” ~ Psalm 90:1-4, 10, 12, 14, 17

Moses’ words spoke to my heart and echoed its cry…

Lord God, may I always acknowledge You as the great “I AM”, the Creator of all things, the One who gave birth to the mountains, and to the earth and all it contains. You are everlasting, the Alpha and Omega, the One “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty” (Revelation 1:8b).

My body came from dust and shall return to dust. Thank You, PRAISE YOU, that my soul does long and thirst for You and will return to You to dwell forever. Thank You for salvation, for saving me through faith, for paying my enormous sin debt with the death of Jesus upon that cross long ago. Thank You for Your grace ~ unearned, undeserved love, mercy, and forgiveness!

Thank You for holding all of my days in Your capable hands. However many days I have left in this body, please may I use them for Your glory! Help me to remember that life is oh so short and fleeting. Let me present to You a heart of wisdom, Your wisdom, filled with the hope and promise of heaven, and with the desire for things that matter eternally.

Each morning, I thank and praise You that Your “lovingkindnesses indeed never cease”, Your “compassions never fail”, for “they are new every morning; great is Thy faithfulness” (Lamentations 3:22-23). In You I find gladness and sing for joy!

I ask for Your favor, O LORD, and that You would “confirm the work of our hands”. Bless my work, all that I do, and give me the strength through the power of Your Holy Spirit to do it, and may it all be done for Your glory!

Amen.

This entry was posted in Creation, Faith, God, God's Faithfulness, Grace, Heart, Heaven, Holy Spirit, Hope, January 2013, Jesus, Joy, Love, Mercy, Moses, Praises, Prayer, Psalms, Salvation, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

