Teach Me to Make My Days COUNT

“This year I’m going to …”. What have you resolved to do better or differently in this new year? One of my friends claimed a verse for the year ~ a great idea!

This year as I reorganize and declutter our house, I think perhaps I shall also work on reorganizing and decluttering my life, even my very soul.

Where should I invest myself? How can I focus more on God, and others, and less on me? What things waste too much of my precious time? And where do I need to set boundaries and limits? The Bible tells us oh so clearly how we should spend our lives, living for God’s glory!

* I would love to spend my time on things that really matter, eternal things, investments in God’s kingdom.

“‘Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.'” ~ Matthew 6:19-21 (KJV) I want my heart to be focused on, and longing for, heaven!

* Oh me of little faith, how my faith needs to grow!

“And Jesus answered and said to them, ‘Truly I say to you, if you have faith, and do not doubt, you shall not only do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ it shall happen. And all things you ask in prayer, believing, you shall receive.'” ~ Matthew 21:21-22 Oh God, “I do believe; help my unbelief.” (Mark 9:24b) Amen!

* I long to spend more time in purposeful prayer.

“‘But you, when you pray, go into your inner room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in secret, and your Father who sees in secret will repay you. And when you are praying, do not use meaningless repetition, as the Gentiles do, for they suppose that they will be heard for their many words. Therefore do not be like them; for your Father knows what you need, before you ask Him. Pray, then, in this way: ‘Our Father who art in heaven, Hallowed be Thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil. [For Thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever. Amen.]”” ~ Matthew 6:6-13 Let me seek out alone time to talk with You, God!

* Wasting less time worrying about the daily needs of life is another goal.

“‘Do not be anxious then, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘With what shall we clothe ourselves?’ For all these things the Gentiles eagerly seek; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow: for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.'” ~ Matthew 6:31-34 Let me live each day focused on THIS DAY, and leave the cares and worries for tomorrow in Your hands.

* Even my thoughts need to have boundaries.

“Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things [are] honest, whatsoever things [are] just, whatsoever things [are] pure, whatsoever things [are] lovely, whatsoever things [are] of good report; if [there be] any virtue, and if [there be] any praise, think on these things.” ~ Philippians 4:8 (KJV) Jesus, help me to discern and choose wisely what I spend my time and thoughts on.

* May I spend my days praising and giving thanks to God, telling others of His goodness and grace!

“Blessed be the LORD God, the God of Israel, who alone works wonders. And blessed be His glorious name forever; and may the whole earth be filled with His glory. Amen, and Amen.” ~ Psalm 72:18-19

“But as for me, the nearness of God is my good; I have made the Lord GOD my refuge, that I may tell of all Thy works.” ~ Psalm 73:28

You have a brand new year ahead of you. Won’t you join me in filling the pages of your life with more of God? 🙂

This entry was posted in Faith, Fear, God, Grace, Heart, Heaven, January 2013, Jesus, Love, Love one another, Mark, Matthew, Mind, Others, Philippians, Praises, Prayer, Psalms, Time, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

