Hope in God and His Still Small Voice

I am battle weary. My soul is tired. I am longing to continue following my Commander-in-Chief, yet He seems to have grown silent and still. Yet I know He is still there! He has promised me, His child, that He will never leave me or forsake me (Hebrews 13:5), that He will help me with my burdens and give me rest (Matthew 11:28), that He will guide and direct me (Proverbs 3:5-6). I am simply at a point where I must be still and know that He is God (Psalm 46:10), wait on Him and take courage, (Psalm 27:14), and listen for His voice to gently guide and encourage me.

“And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the LORD. And, behold, the LORD passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the LORD; [but] the LORD [was] not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; [but] the LORD [was] not in the earthquake: And after the earthquake a fire; [but] the LORD [was] not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.” ~ 1 Kings 19:11-12 (KJV)

Elijah was waiting on God. What an amazing thing, to be waiting and to have the LORD pass by you, followed by a great and terrible wind, a rockslide, an earthquake, and a fire. And then to hear God’s still small voice.

Perhaps that is why I am waiting, still and unsure of my path, as the battle goes on around me ~ for the lull, for the quiet moment when God can finally have all my attention, and I will be able to fully listen to Him!

While waiting for God, perhaps I should follow the example of the Psalmist, who spoke to himself in Psalm 43:5 ~ “Why are you in despair, O my soul? And why are you disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him, the help of my countenance, and my God.”

Hope in God. There is nothing else worth placing our hope in.

Waiting, and waiting, and waiting on the LORD and His perfect timing- with His help, of course- I will make the choice to be obedient and to be “speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody with your heart to the Lord; always giving thanks for all things in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God, even the Father;” ~ Ephesians 5:19-20

This entry was posted in 1 Kings, December 2012, Elijah, Ephesians, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Hope, Jesus, Obedience, Praises, Psalms, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope in God and His Still Small Voice

  1. Wow. I hadn’t really thought about how all those things that Elijah experienced would have affected him. He wasn’t just watching them from a nice cozy chair. He was IN them. I’ve felt like everything was falling down around me, and it sure didn’t sound like God was in the torrent or when my world was shaken to its core, but I can totally see how we can hear his still small voice in the quiet that comes afterwards.

    I’m praying for you, that soon you will hear that still small voice and receive his strength and peace, and a respite from the battle. You are such a sweet and special person!

Leave a Reply

