Guard My Soul and Deliver Me

Things have been running amuck since we returned from our amazing vacation on the coast. Several major appliances are debating whether or not to give out completely, our roof has sprung three leaks, and then there are multiple personal trials. I have been feeling quite overwhelmed and discouraged. What a perfect time to come across my most personal passage in the Psalms and be reminded of God’s goodness and faithfulness!

My teen years were plagued with the usual angst, but then when my parents separated, and eventually divorced, several of my best friends at the time left school, my grandmother died, and I couldn’t possibly do enough to please my mother, I was riddled with pain and suicidal thoughts. At this darkest of hours, God showed me the 25th Psalm, where I claimed a passage and clung to it for dear life. And He brought me through my “valley of the shadow of death”, and introduced me to my very bestest of best friends, my husband. God is good like that. 🙂

“Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted. The troubles of my heart are enlarged; bring me out of my distresses. Look upon my affliction and my trouble, and forgive all my sins. Look upon my enemies, for they are many; and they hate me with violent hatred. Guard my soul and deliver me; do not let me be ashamed, for I take refuge in Thee. Let integrity and uprightness preserve me, for I wait for Thee.” ~ Psalm 25:16-21

Are you in your own “valley of the shadow of death”? Cling to God! He loves you passionately! He is worthy of your trust and will take care of you, every step of the way. And then, when He has safely led you through your darkest of days, you can join me in rejoicing ~ “That I may proclaim with the voice of thanksgiving, and declare all Thy wonders.” ~ Psalm 26:7

God does indeed work mighty and awesome wonders! Thanks be to God! 🙂

This entry was posted in Blessings, David, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, Grace, Hope, Joy, Love, November 2012, Praises, Psalms, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guard My Soul and Deliver Me

  1. Really beautiful! Thank you for sharing. I pray that the little hassles of today will melt away.

Leave a Reply

