I Shall Not Want

Are you feeling overwhelmed by life? Would you like someone else to take care of you and show you the safe way to go? Let the Good Shepherd lead you and take care of you.

“[[A Psalm of David.]] The LORD [is] my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou [art] with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.” ~ Psalm 23 (KJV)

The LORD. Jehovah. YHWH. My Shepherd.

Jesus tells us ~ “‘I am the good shepherd; and I know My own, and My own know Me, even as the Father knows Me and I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep…My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they shall never perish; and no one shall snatch them out of My hand.'” ~ John 10:14-15, 27-28

If we belong to Jesus, He knows us, and we know Him; we know His voice, and we follow Him! He lay down His life for us, freely going to the cross by choice, so that we could be free from the death penalty for our sins and have eternal life. And no one shall snatch us out of His hand. That is a PROMISE. Once we belong to Jesus, we will always belong to Jesus and be safe in His hands. Always. Have you given your life to Jesus yet, surrendering yourself, and accepting His free gift of grace ~ undeserved, unearned forgiveness, mercy, and love?

I shall not want. Not only does this mean our needs are met, but also that there is nothing else we should desire, but to follow the Shepherd.

God cares for us silly, foolish sheep by bringing us to safe, green pastures. He knows that the rushing waters of this world can sweep us away, so He leads us beside the still waters. (Did you know that loud rushing water can throw off a sheep’s equilibrium and cause it to fall into the water? Amazing!)

By accepting the gift of forgiveness and salvation, our souls are restored before God, washed clean from the stains of sin, and we are clothed in the righteousness of Jesus.

When we recognize and listen to our Shepherd’s voice, we will follow Him on those paths of righteousness, for His name’s sake, for His glory. And sometimes we must walk through the valley of the shadow of death, but God is right there with us, so we needn’t be afraid.

The rod and staff are symbols of protection as well as correction. Predators and enemies are fought off and destroyed with them. But when a shepherd uses the crook of his staff to grab a sheep by the neck, that correction is for its protection, also. The Good Shepherd knows what is best for us, so we can trust Him that when He changes our direction, it is for our protection!

Our Shepherd feeds, cares for, and blesses us, exceedingly and abundantly, even in the presence of our enemies. He may not take us out of bad circumstances, but He will certainly care for us as He takes us through them.

And we will know the goodness of God’s mercy, grace, and love all the days of our lives, and we will dwell with Him in His house, forever! Amen! 🙂

This entry was posted in Blessings, David, Faith, Fear, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Name, God's Promises, Grace, Jesus, Mercy, November 2012, Obedience, Psalms, Salvation, Shepherd, The Nature of God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

