The Apple of the Eye

“Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of Thy wings,” ~ Psalm 17:8

David was asking God for protection and safety. The apple literally means the pupil, the center of the eye ~ the center of sight and attention. Don’t take Your eye off of me, God!

Did you know, child of God, that you are as the apple of God’s eye? He promises to never leave or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5), to always provide for and protect you (Matthew 6:25-34), and to prepare a place for you in heaven! (John 14:1-4) He knows everything about you, even how many hairs you have on your head. (Matthew 10:29-31) He certainly will never let you out of His sight!

“I love Thee, O LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies… In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God for help; He heard my voice out of His temple, and my cry for help before Him came into His ears.” ~ Psalm 18:1-3, 6

Remember, it was said of David ~ “…the LORD hath sought him a man after his own heart…” ~ 1 Samuel 13:14(KJV). David was intimate with God, earnestly seeking after Him with his whole heart. Was he perfect at this? Definitely not. But God knew his heart. And David desired to know God’s.

David loved God. He was his strength, his rock, his fortress, his deliverer, his refuge, his shield, the horn (literally, “strength”) of his salvation, his stronghold. David knew he could call upon the LORD, “who is worthy to be praised”, and he would be saved from his enemies. And he knew when he called upon God for help, He would hear his voice.

So, not only was he as the apple of God’s eye, but God also heard him. We can learn from this and take heart ~ when we are seeking after God as His children, we have God’s full attention! He will always watch and listen. We are completely covered. Nothing takes God by surprise, for He sees all and hears all and knows all. We can rest in Him, taking refuge in God our rock. 🙂

This entry was posted in David, God, God's Faithfulness, Heart, Heaven, Love, November 2012, Psalms, Salvation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

