I Will Choose

A very good friend pointed out to me years and years ago the words “I will” throughout the Psalms. Why? Because they signify a choice being made. I will. Whether I feel like it or not, I will. I have never forgotten this, and those words jump out at me as I read through the Psalms again this time.

“I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me round about.” ~ Psalm 3:6

Was David afraid? You bet! His son Absalom was rebelling and seeking to take the kingdom, and his very life, from him when he composed the third Psalm. But David willed to not be afraid and to trust instead. He knew that God would take care of him.

“But Thou, O LORD, art a shield about me, my glory, and the One who lifts my head.” ~ Psalm 3:3

“Tremble, and do not sin; meditate in your heart upon your bed, and be still. Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and trust in the LORD.” ~ Psalm 4:4

“In peace I will both lie down and sleep, for Thou alone, O LORD, dost make me to dwell in safety.” ~ Psalm 4:8

I will. I will not only lie down, but also sleep peacefully, because in God alone can I dwell in safety.

I will signifies not only a choice being made, but it also acknowledges that God is worthy of our trust.

As you read through the Psalms, a very real source of comfort and encouragement in today’s crazy world, look for those words, “I will”. I have them all underlined, and it is a helpful reminder that it is a choice that I must make, surrendering and choosing to trust and obey God in any and all circumstances. Daily.

This entry was posted in David, Faith, Fear, God, God's Faithfulness, November 2012, Obedience, Peace, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Will Choose

  1. carolynrice says:

    Such a great word for today!

  2. Psalm 3 was one of my favorite songs in high school! It has come back to me throughout my adult life, and it’s still a help to my spirit. thank you for this post. 🙂

  3. Don Hartness says:

    We should also remember that “will” is more than a choice; it is a faculty of being human, independent of reason, emotion, and so on. Walking the path of discipleship not only means being purged from sin in our thoughts and in our hearts, it also means being purged in our will, so that we can make the correct choice. If we find that we cannot make the right choice because our will is not in it, then we discover an area that needs healing. 🙂

    • Good points! I think sometimes it comes down to a matter of surrender. We choose to obey and follow the Father’s will rather than our own, even if we don’t want to or “feel” like it. Jesus is our perfect example ~ “‘nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.'” ~ Luke 22:42b (KJV)

Leave a Reply

