I Will Ask You

I LOVE the final chapters of the book of Job! The LORD spoke to Job directly, “out of the whirlwind” (Job 38:1). The Hebrew word here is ca`ar, which means “storm, tempest, whirlwind”. Can you imagine? Job had been challenging God to allow him to plead his case before Him, and so God arrived to meet with Job, in a storm. Wow. These chapters are so amazing~ please go and read them in their entirety! The Almighty, the Creator of all things, the LORD God, the great I AM spoke before these men. And you can bet they listened to every word, and trembled.

“‘Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge? Now gird up your loins like a man, and I will ask you, and you instruct Me!'” ~ Job 38:2-3

God challenged Job. You think you know all about Me and how things should be? Okay, here I am. Stand up and fight like a man. Tell Me all about Me.

“‘Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth! Tell Me, if you have understanding, who set its measurements, since you know? Or who stretched the line on it? On what were its bases sunk? Or who laid its cornerstone, when the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?'” ~ Job 38:4-7

There is no cruelty in God’s words. However, I think there is reprimand. How could Job have any understanding of what happened at the beginning of Creation? How could he possibly think he knew all about God? How can we possibly think we know all about God?

“‘Or who enclosed the sea with doors, when, bursting forth, it went out from the womb; when I made a cloud its garment, and thick darkness its swaddling band, and I placed boundaries on it, and I set a bolt and doors, and I said, “Thus far you shall come, but no farther; and here shall your proud waves stop”?…Have you entered into the springs of the sea? Or have you walked in the recesses of the deep?'” ~ Job 38:8-11, 16

Our family loves to go to the beach. We are blessed with a week each year on the Oregon coast, and there is nothing in nature more awe-inspiring for me than the Pacific Ocean. The sheer power, the endless waves, the controlled tides ~ it is all because of God. He created it, He put it into motion, He gave it its boundaries, and He knows every creature and plant, even in its deepest of deeps. And the ocean obeys Him.

“‘You know, for you were born then, and the number of your days is great!'” ~ Job 38:21

Is this perhaps a bit of sarcasm from God? Oh that’s right, Job, you’ve been alive all this time, so you remember exactly how I created everything.

Remember, God loves Job with an everlasting love. Just like He loves you and me. Yes, He was correcting Job, but isn’t that what a good parent does? He was setting the record straight, reminding Job that He is the LORD God Almighty.

“‘For my thoughts [are] not your thoughts, neither [are] your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For [as] the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.'” ~ Isaiah 55:8-9 (KJV)

God revealed bits of His character, His very nature and Who He is, in these chapters. I am so thankful. We serve an awesome and mighty God!

This entry was posted in Creation, God, God's Name, Job, Love, Nature, October 2012, The Nature of God, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Will Ask You

  1. Pingback: Saturday Links: Joy vs Laughter, Suffering, Scientists & More | Creation Science 4 Kids

  2. I often wonder if Job would have been so demanding of God in his attitude if he hadn’t spent so much time defending himself to the gossipers and his false friends. He got himself pretty worked up in those conversations; what if he had been seeking comfort from God instead?

    God loved him completely either way, but it could have changed Job’s outlook and he could have had peace that passes understanding. I’m so thankful that God does have such patience with me when I forget to seek him first.

Leave a Reply

