I Know That My Redeemer Lives

Job’s friends were of no help to him. “‘Sorry comforters are you all.'” ~ Job 16:2b. He was in pain and depressed, mourning his great and terrible loss.

“‘…I shout for help, but there is no justice… He has stripped my honor from me, and removed the crown from my head. He breaks me down on every side, and I am gone; and He has uprooted my hope like a tree.'” ~ Job 19:7b, 9-10

Job felt like God was not listening, was not interested in justice. Oh, if Job had only known that by holding fast and enduring through his trials, he was actually proving Satan wrong and God right! But all Job could see was his immediate circumstances. Sometimes we need to remember that there is more going on in our lives than meets the eye.

“‘…I am one at whom men spit.'” ~ Job 17:6b

“‘My relatives have failed, and my intimate friends have forgotten me… My breath is offensive to my wife, and I am loathsome to my own brothers. Even young children despise me; I rise up and they speak against me. All my associates abhor me, and those I love have turned against me.'” ~ Job 19:14, 17-19

If anyone deserved to have a pity party, it was Job. He had been “the greatest of all the men of the east” (Job 1:3), yet now he was the lowest of the low, spit upon, loathed and despised.

Yet in all of his trials and anguish, Job held fast to God.

“‘And as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last He will take His stand on the earth. Even after my skin is destroyed, yet from my flesh I shall see God; whom I myself shall behold, and whom my eyes shall see and not another. My heart faints within me.'” ~ Job 19:25-27

The Redeemer, Job’s goel, the Hebrew word meaning “kinsman redeemer”, would come and save and vindicate him. Jesus is our kinsmen redeemer. He died for us, so He could save and vindicate us, then overcame death and lives again, so He could give us the hope and promise of eternal life with Him.

Job’s faith in God was so strong that he chose to continue believing and trusting and holding fast, even in his darkest suffering. And he chose to continue waiting for his Redeemer to come. Somehow, he knew he would be with God, after death, redeemed.

“My heart faints within me” ~ I can hardly wait, I am so overwhelmed at this thought!

When life is difficult, hold fast and wait for your Redeemer. He will come and save and vindicate you. Just ask Him.

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Friends, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Heart, Heaven, Hope, Jesus, Job, October 2012, Redeemer, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

