Days Ordained For Me

Even though Job had become an outcast, was in excruciating pain, and had suffered terrible loss, he did not “curse God and die”, like his wife suggested. However, he did curse the day he was born.

“Afterward Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth. And Job said, ‘Let the day perish on which I was to be born, and the night which said, ‘A boy is conceived.’ May that day be darkness; let not God above care for it, nor light shine on it…
For now I would have lain down and been quiet; I would have slept then, I would have been at rest, with kings and with counselors of the earth, who rebuilt ruins for themselves; or with princes who had gold, who were filling their houses with silver. Or like a miscarriage which is discarded, I would not be, as infants that never saw light. There the wicked cease from raging, and there the weary are at rest. The prisoners are at ease together; they do not hear the voice of the taskmaster. The small and the great are there, and the slave is free from his master…
For what I fear comes upon me, and what I dread befalls me. I am not at ease, nor am I quiet, and I am not at rest, but turmoil comes.'” ~ Job 3:1-4, 13-19, 25-26

This sounds like something I might do if facing what Job faced. Why was I even born, God? Wouldn’t it have been better if I had just died at birth, or even before? What good came from me being born? Ever wondered that for yourself?

Job forgot all about the wonderful years of blessing and joy he had been given.

Let’s see what God tells us about our lives…

“For Thou didst form my inward parts; Thou didst weave me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to Thee, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; wonderful are Thy works, and my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from Thee, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth. Thine eyes have seen my unformed substance; and in Thy book they were all written, the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them.” ~ Psalm 139:13-16

God knew us, knew YOU and ME, before we were even born. And He had already written a plan for our days, while we were growing in our mothers’ wombs. Amazing!! Don’t you think we aren’t really mistakes? God carefully planned for us, anticipated our births, and loved us while He was still fashioning us!

We need to be thankful for our lives, for each and every day God has given to us ~ the good, the bad, and the ugly!

Back to Job. Did you notice how he spoke of death? He was one of the wisest, most God-fearing men of his time, yet he thought of death as the ceasing of struggle, as rest. In his day, they did not understand in full. Jesus had not yet come to bring salvation and hope.

There is peace, joy, rest, and eternal life waiting for those of us who have accepted the free gift of salvation and are saved by God’s grace through faith, washed in the blood of Jesus. But woe to those who have not accepted and opened that free gift God offers to everyone. There is no peace or joy or rest waiting for them, only unrest, pain, and everlasting suffering and death. Oh please, those of you still on the fence, won’t you accept the gift of salvation Jesus has for you, today? Don’t wait any longer. Come as you are, and come to Jesus!

Again, returning to Job, that which he feared had come upon him. “Turmoil came.” When turmoil (the King James says “trouble”) comes, and it always does, turn to Jesus. Cling to Him, and let Him help you through the trouble.

Remember, “‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” ~ Jeremiah 29:11-13

God has a plan for you, “to give you a future and a hope”. Call upon Him, pray and He will listen. Seek Him with your whole heart, and you will find Him. That is a promise! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Blessings, Faith, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Heaven, Hope, Jesus, Job, Joy, Peace, Prayer, September 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Days Ordained For Me

  1. Delana says:

    This is the second time today I’ve read Psalm 139 on someone’s blog! One of my favorites! http://3daysatsea.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/can-you-hear-me-now/

  2. β€œβ€˜For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, β€˜plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope…” Jer. 29:11

    There were times when that verse was the only thing keeping me going. I was living in a Job kind of experience and there really looked like there was no hope for peace before death. Holding onto that Scripture kept me sane. Love this blog!

Leave a Reply

