A Breath of Prayer

I am reading through the book of Nehemiah, and several things have grabbed my attention.

First, the fun one ~ it sounds like he talked to himself! 🙂

“And I consulted with myself…” ~ Nehemiah 5:7a

I like knowing that. Talking to one’s self is something that not only runs, but gallops, through my family. 🙂 I think perhaps this verse is trying to tell us that he searched his heart and thoughts, but he could have conducted that search audibly!

Next, I have enjoyed Nehemiah’s writing style. It is similar to Ezra in its journaling tone, a personal narrative about how things were in Jerusalem in his day. He even records his prayers to God this way. I can identify with his conversational prayers. There are moments I simply breathe a prayer to God.

“Remember me, O my God, for good, according to all that I have done for this people.” ~ Nehemiah 5:19

“…But now, O God, strengthen my hands.” ~ Nehemiah 6:9b

“Remember, O my God, Tobiah and Sanballat according to these works of theirs, and also Noadiah the prophetess and the rest of the prophets who were trying to frighten me.” ~ Nehemiah 6:14

Finally, I appreciate how Nehemiah had a strong, unshakeable faith in God, and how he encouraged those around him.

“When I saw their fear, I rose and spoke to the nobles, the officials, and the rest of the people: ‘Do not be afraid of them; remember the Lord who is great and awesome, and fight for your brothers, your sons, your daughters, your wives, and your houses.'” ~ Nehemiah 4:14

“‘…Do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.'” ~ Nehemiah 8:10b

Do not be afraid of what this day holds. “Remember the Lord who is great and awesome”. 🙂

This entry was posted in Faith, God, Heart, History, Nehemiah, Others, Prayer, September 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

