Not My Will, But Thine

Our road in life is tricky right now. Which direction should we go?

Do we take this door over here? It is noticeably ajar. How long should we wait for it to open? What if it never opens? Are we looking at the wrong door? Is there another one opening instead?? Yikes!

It looks like there’s a fork in the road ahead…left or right?

What about this gaping hole where the road is washed out? There is only one way across, on that itty bitty plank, rickety and rough, and we really don’t want to take this route, God. Yet, it seems to be the only way.

Jesus prayed that God might make another way for Him to save the world. He was in the garden of Gethsemane, awaiting His arrest, trials, beatings, torture, and execution. He was fully God, yet also fully man. He experienced the same feelings and emotions that we do.

“Then Jesus came with them to a place called Gethsemane, and said to His disciples, ‘Sit here while I go over there and pray.’ And He took with Him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to be grieved and distressed. Then He said to them, ‘My soul is deeply grieved, to the point of death; remain here and keep watch with Me.’ And He went a little beyond them, and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, ‘My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as Thou wilt.’ And He came to the disciples, and found them sleeping, and said to Peter, ‘So, you men could not keep watch with Me for one hour? Keep watching and praying, that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.’ He went away again a second time and prayed, saying, ‘My Father, if this cannot pass away unless I drink it, Thy will be done.’ And again He came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy. And He left them again, and went away and prayed a third time, saying the same thing once more.” ~ Matthew 26:36-44

Jesus’ soul was grieved, “to the point of death”. He asked His closest friends to remain and keep watch with Him. Then He went “a little beyond them, and fell on His face, and prayed”.

I need to spend more time flat on my face in prayer.

“My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as Thou wilt.” Next, “My Father, if this cannot pass away unless I drink it, Thy will be done.” And again, “My Father, if this cannot pass away unless I drink it, Thy will be done.”

What did His friends do? They fell asleep! Sometimes, we are left all on our own to face our hardships and agony, just us and our heavenly Father. Hmm, perhaps we are not so alone after all.

Jesus knew the cross was the only way. He had come down to earth for just that purpose: to seek and to save the lost. He had sought them, and He continues to seek the lost to this day; now it was time to save them, once and for all. Yet, He earnestly prayed to God the Father for assurance, setting a perfect example for us, yielding to the Father’s will.

Is this really the only way? Is there another way I could possibly go? Please? Doesn’t that sound like our own prayers, our own anguished hearts, when we are facing a terrible road ahead?

Do we end those prayers with an obedient, yielding spirit like Jesus did? “Thy will be done.” Not my will, God, but Thine. Amen.

God’s ways are best, His will is right and good, but when we are in the valley, we can only see our immediate circumstances and long for an easier way.

But there is no other road I would rather take, than the road God has placed before me, for I know He is with me every step, and I don’t have to walk it alone. And it leads to heaven!

“…being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, ‘I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU,’ so that we confidently say, ‘THE LORD IS MY HELPER, I WILL NOT BE AFRAID. WHAT SHALL MAN DO TO ME?” ~ Hebrews 13:5b-6 🙂

This entry was posted in Faith, Fear, God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Heart, Heaven, Jesus, Matthew, Obedience, Prayer, September 2012, Waiting on the Lord. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

