Wholly Surrendered

Surrender. What does that look like? “You’re surrounded. Come out with your hands up!” Nope. That is not what I’m thinking of. Giving up in defeat? No, that is not quite it, either. Falling to your knees in hopelessness? Almost, but still not right. As believers, we shouldn’t feel hopeless, for God has given us great hope in Him!

My old trusty Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary has this as one of its definitions of surrender: “to give up oneself into the power of another; to yield”.

As I took Communion on Friday, God gently challenged me about how surrendered I truly am to Him. I was surprised to search myself and find that I am holding onto some things in my life rather tightly. God has been gently prying my fingers open and helping me to relax my hold on these areas. It has not been without pain! But I need to yield my thoughts, my hopes, my desires, my family, my future, to God. I must.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” ~ James 1:17 (KJV) I can trust God’s plan to be for my good.

“Neither yield ye your members [as] instruments of unrighteousness unto sin: but yield yourselves unto God, as those that are alive from the dead, and your members [as] instruments of righteousness unto God. For sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace… Know ye not, that to whom ye yield yourselves servants to obey, his servants ye are to whom ye obey; whether of sin unto death, or of obedience unto righteousness?… I speak after the manner of men because of the infirmity of your flesh: for as ye have yielded your members servants to uncleanness and to iniquity unto iniquity; even so now yield your members servants to righteousness unto holiness.” ~ Romans 6:13-14, 16, 19 (KJV)

Once we are washed clean by the blood of Jesus, saved by God’s grace, we are no longer to yield to our own selfish desires and sinful nature. We belong to God and are clothed in the righteousness of Jesus, so our desire should be to yield in obedience to God’s will and desires, not our own.

Who am I serving? Myself? Or God? Am I yielding in obedience, or clinging hopelessly to the false belief that my desires and plans will be best? Can I trust God with my family, with my future? Absolutely. Where else is there hope like the hope we have in Him?

“And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope [is] in thee.” ~ Psalm 39:7 (KJV)

“Thou [art] my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word.” ~ Psalm 119:114 (KJV)

“The LORD [is] my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.” ~ Lamentations 3:24 (KJV)

“according to my earnest expectation and hope, that I shall not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ shall even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” ~ Philippians 1:20-21

At the cross You beckon me, You draw me gently to my knees, and I am lost for words, so lost in love, I’m sweetly broken, wholly surrendered…
~ from the song “Sweetly Broken” by Jeremy Riddle

This entry was posted in August 2012, Family, Forgiveness, God, God's Faithfulness, Heart, Hope, Jesus, Obedience, Sin Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

