Family Heritage

My husband serves on Sunday mornings, teaching Sunday School to 7 & 8 year-olds. Normally our youngest daughter attends church with me, but this morning she was wiped out from a busy week and stayed tucked in her cozy bed. So, it was just Me. Myself. I.

Now, I am an introverted chicken who normally avoids situations like this at all costs. After all, our pastor is broadcast on the radio. I could just drive around and listen. But this morning I sat in the church service all by myself. And you know what? It was good. Very good indeed. God met me and blessed me. I offered up my worship to Him, and He fed my spirit with His teaching, through our faithful pastor.

As I looked around, I noticed multiple generations sitting together, enjoying Sunday morning worship. Together. I want to bless my children and my children’s children with the gift of sharing my love for God and for studying His word.

I fought tears as I realized that a very few of my birth family desire to share in this, my love for and walk with Jesus. This chain, I pray, will be broken with me. Jesus, let my children and my children’s children seek after you. Always. And may I be a humble example of a servant, sitting at Your feet and listening to Your instruction.

“[Specially] the day that thou stoodest before the LORD thy God in Horeb, when the LORD said unto me, Gather me the people together, and I will make them hear my words, that they may learn to fear me all the days that they shall live upon the earth, and [that] they may teach their children.” ~ Deuteronomy 4:10 (KJV)

“And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.” ~ Deuteronomy 6:7 (KJV)

“And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.” ~ Deuteronomy 11:19 (KJV)

“Gather the people together, men, and women, and children, and thy stranger that [is] within thy gates, that they may hear, and that they may learn, and fear the LORD your God, and observe to do all the words of this law: And [that] their children, which have not known [any thing], may hear, and learn to fear the LORD your God, as long as ye live in the land whither ye go over Jordan to possess it.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:12-13 (KJV)

“That this may be a sign among you, [that] when your children ask [their fathers] in time to come, saying, What [mean] ye by these stones? Then ye shall answer them, That the waters of Jordan were cut off before the ark of the covenant of the LORD; when it passed over Jordan, the waters of Jordan were cut off: and these stones shall be for a memorial unto the children of Israel for ever.” ~ Joshua 4:6-7 (KJV)

“We will not hide [them] from their children, shewing to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, and his strength, and his wonderful works that he hath done. For he established a testimony in Jacob, and appointed a law in Israel, which he commanded our fathers, that they should make them known to their children: That the generation to come might know [them, even] the children [which] should be born; [who] should arise and declare [them] to their children:” ~ Psalm 78:4-6 (KJV)

“But the mercy of the LORD [is] from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear him, and his righteousness unto children’s children;” ~ Psalm 103:17 (KJV)

“Lo, children [are] an heritage of the LORD: [and] the fruit of the womb [is his] reward. As arrows [are] in the hand of a mighty man; so [are] children of the youth.” ~ Psalm 127:3-4 (KJV)

“In the fear of the LORD [is] strong confidence: and his children shall have a place of refuge.” ~ Proverbs 14:26 (KJV)

“Children’s children [are] the crown of old men; and the glory of children [are] their fathers.” ~ Proverbs 17:6 (KJV)

“The just [man] walketh in his integrity: his children [are] blessed after him.” ~ Proverbs 20:7 (KJV)

“Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband [also], and he praiseth her.” ~ Proverbs 31:28 (KJV)

This entry was posted in Blessings, Children, Commandments, Family, God, July 2012, Love, Others, Praises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

