Storms of Life

Life has been a struggle on our little ranch this past week. When my husband began his sentence Sunday morning with, “You know how Job…” after checking on the well pump, my heart dropped. Not the pump. One thing after another, after another, after another has gone wrong, and costly repairs are looming. Sigh. Praise God we all have our health and our lives!

Between the crumbling homestead, our overly busy schedules, and other stressful life situations, I feel like I reached the end of my rope, tied a knot, lost my grip, fell, and am now clinging to the ledge below. So where do I turn?

I look for comfort in the arms of God and in His Word.

“for he hath said, ‘I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.'” ~ Hebrews 13:5b (KJV)

“When I cry [unto thee], then shall mine enemies turn back: this I know; for God [is] for me.” ~ Psalm 56:9 (KJV)

“Turn thee unto me, and have mercy upon me; for I [am] desolate and afflicted.” ~ Psalm 25:16 (KJV)

Yes, LORD, I need you!

When Satan stripped away from Job his children and possessions, Job was wise enough to recognize Who had given it all to him in the first place.

“Then Job arose, and rent his mantle, and shaved his head, and fell down upon the ground, and worshipped, And said, ‘Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.’ In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.” ~ Job 1:20-22 (KJV)

Satan then asked for God’s permission to tempt and try Job even more.

“So went Satan forth from the presence of the LORD, and smote Job with sore boils from the sole of his foot unto his crown. And he took him a potsherd to scrape himself withal; and he sat down among the ashes. Then said his wife unto him, ‘Dost thou still retain thine integrity? curse God, and die.’ But he said unto her, ‘Thou speakest as one of the foolish women speaketh. What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil?’ In all this did not Job sin with his lips.” ~ Job 2:7-10 (KJV)

Job despaired, suffered and questioned, yet he never cursed God. Oh, that I might handle trials without sinning!

I must continually surrender and exchange my will for His.

And I know that:

“He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still.” ~ Psalm 107:29 (KJV)

“For thou hast been a strength to the poor, a strength to the needy in his distress, a refuge from the storm, a shadow from the heat, when the blast of the terrible ones [is] as a storm [against] the wall.” ~ Isaiah 25:4 (KJV)

My husband reminded me of these words of Job:

“For I know [that] my redeemer liveth, and [that] he shall stand at the latter [day] upon the earth:” ~ Job 19:25 (KJV)

In God we have refuge, strength, peace, redemption, and victory, even when we are slogging along in the trials of this earthly life.

On my walk through this little valley, I am continually reminding myself of this verse:

“I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” ~ Philippians 4:13 (KJV)

Okay, Jesus, here we go! Strengthen me for the rest of this journey…

This entry was posted in God, God's Faithfulness, God's Promises, Hope, Jesus, Job, July 2012, Redeemer, Satan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

